Swype help needed!

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by Lars1, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. Lars1

    Lars1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all,

    I have lost the ability to install Swype. (and I'm going crazy without it!)

    I have removed and uninstalled every Swype related thing on my phone (using Root Explorer and Astro), including the installer, program and back-ups, but every time I try to re-install it gives me a "Download Failed, Swype is already installed error".

    I have tried re-booting after the uninstall, but to no avail.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    TIA
     
  2. jasonppp

    jasonppp Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    hey buddy swype is a closed beta and some people get edgy about the discussion check your pms see if it helps you
     
  3. FranklinWalker

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    swype is a closed beta?
     
  4. jasonppp

    jasonppp Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  5. Duhman

    Duhman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try it again, doing the same things you did above w/ one exception.

    After the Swype installer downloads Swype keyboard and you install it, a screen will come up w/ OK greyed out and a Done button (which if you click it will tell you swype is already installed). Do not click done, just back out of this screen w/ the back arrow menu button. It should go to the registration window and allow you to setup swype.

    This was the only way I could get it to install.

    HTH!
     
  6. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes Super Moderator
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you aren't signed up with the beta testing you could try slideIT. I tried it and like it more than swype which is unbelievable. I like the shortkeys you can make. Good luck! :D
     
  7. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    It sounds like you're missing something. If you've removed both Swype and the Swype Installer then you should be good to go. You might want to check using the various applications filters when removing. I thought I had removed everything only to find Swype still listed under one of the filters.

    The manager of the beta program has a recommended process posted in the Swype Beta forums that you might want to look at.

    Discussion's not really an issue. Distributing is.
     
  8. jasonppp

    jasonppp Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2

    really i just removed slideit swype seems to be more accurate then slideit and i like the face better in swype better also
     
  9. RadHal

    RadHal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I spent hours trying to install the latest September beta update. Here are some things I tried
    - look at recommendations from the Swype beta forum on their website search for FAQ and errors Swype | Text Input for Screens
    - temporarily stop using launcher programs such as ADW, Launcher Pro, DXtop and use stock android desktop (may need to download "Home Switcher")
    - stop all (unnecessary) running service Setting-Application-Running services
    - use a task manager eg "Advanced task Manager" or "Advanced Task Killer" to close all but most essential programs
    -Temporarily stop/remove Beautiful Widgets from your home screen and any other running widget
    - remove any vius programs like Lookout (these can all be re-installed later)
    -Basically you want to have as little running as possible to free up space/memory
    - follow other advice with regards removing/uninstalling Swype and the Installer and use a Program like Astro to search the entire phone incl SD card for remants of Swype
    -After downloading the installer do a reboot before logging in and proceeding with the installation

    Keep trying, eventually it will work, it's worth it though I'm not sure why I always struggle to update Swype - Good luck
     
  10. dkscudder

    dkscudder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where you able to fix this? I had this problem for the last few days, but finally got it to work.

    The installer process has to survive the install process (if you follow). Some roms are particularly aggressive at killing unused processes which can cause some issues. I used a memory manager (Auto Memory, but there may be better ones out there) to crank up the priority of the installer and then killed every process that wasn't a part of the Android System (I used SystemPanel lite). Then I ran through the installer again, the process survived and properly registered after the install.

    That probably made no sense, but I'm trying. Way too many uses for words like "install" and "process" :)

    Peace.
     
  11. Lars1

    Lars1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply,

    I have not get it to work yet. I have tried 10 times today, following all of the above suggestions (except yours, which I will try now).

    Which running processes can I safely kill and will they stay dead?

    Also, did you do all of the other things mentioned above or just the things you listed?

    Thanks.
     
  12. Lars1

    Lars1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, would you mind laying out the steps you went through to achieve success?

    I would greatly appreciate it!
     
Search tags for this page

swype help

,
vortex remove words swype