Swype for the A855?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by tnronin, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. tnronin
    Online

    tnronin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So does this animal exist for the unrooted Droid? TIA

    Sent from my Droid
  2. treefrog20012003
    Offline

    treefrog20012003 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shreve, Ohio
    If you mean the original moto droid then yes in a way. Swype has a beta out for it if you can get in on it.

    Droid I Rom-crap which one did I load again?
  3. akara
    Offline

    akara New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Yes you should be able to download it from online some where when I have some free time I will try to the the link. I used it in my ally before but I didn't like it cause the settings didn't work right.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    they swype beta is open now isn't it? just go to swypes official website and download it from there
  5. maxnicks
    Offline

    maxnicks New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, Swype's beta recently reopened. Just go there and get it. Then you'll be able to keep your updates current.
  6. styx
    Offline

    styx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using it now :)
  7. akara
    Offline

    akara New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ohh I didn't know the beta reopened.... but its just a limited time right?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No I believe it is a public beta now

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  9. jnd121
    Offline

    jnd121 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using it on my Droid as we speak. Just go to beta.swype.com.
  10. georgek
    Offline

    georgek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I liking swype so far on my droid.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  11. tnronin
    Online

    tnronin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok got it. Using it now. Takes a little practice. I like using two fingers tho. I don't know if I will keep it now that I am using it. And after all that work finding it. Lol

    Sent from my Droid
  12. georgek
    Offline

    georgek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    You have to get used to it. Once you use it for a little while you probably won't want to use anything else.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  13. akara
    Offline

    akara New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I think I still like shapewriter better. Couple reasons.
    1. Smaller file size/easier to find/install
    2. Can go back and click any word to edit it.
    3. Don't have to go over a letter twice for double letters.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  14. qotsa1369
    Offline

    qotsa1369 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I feel really stupid, esp because I feel technologically inclined.

    But... I don't know how to get SWYPE on my Motorola Droid A855.
    Help.
  15. bwpopper
    Offline

    bwpopper New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://beta.swype.com

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  16. qotsa1369
    Offline

    qotsa1369 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Says its only for phone with swype preinstalled. My droid a855 doesn't have it installed at all. ):
  17. dodgersrgood
    Offline

    dodgersrgood New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i cant get swype to work on my droid anymore. the one it downloads from the swype installer thing the keyboard works but it doesnt "swype" it just works like a regular keyboard so theres actually no point at all in using it... any help would be great
  18. AngryHatter
    Offline

    AngryHatter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Swype | Text Input for Screens
    Click where it says, Swype Beta Now Open.

    Did you post on the Swype forums? They are pretty good about responding.
    You have to follow the directions in the email. Pretty detailed.
    If you had Swype working and now it is not, I suggest uninstalling both the installer and the app and downloading the installer once more.
    Last time the three month period ended and the up date was released, you had to basically reinstall it all over again.
    Come to think of it, it has been almost three months. :)
    Look for a new update June.
  19. mamawm
    Offline

    mamawm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mississippi
  20. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, it says:
    If you don't have Swype preinstalled then they Swype beta program is the only way to get it legally.

    +1 for the Swype forums. The reinstall process is detailed there. You really should be using the Sype beta forums if you're in the beta. The point of a beta is to provide feedback.
Search tags for this page
does droid a855 have swype
,

does the droid a855 have swype

,

droid a855 swype

,
how to activate swype on motorola droid a855 p
,
motorola a855 swype keyboard
,
swipe app for droid a855
,
swipe on motorola droid a855
,
swype quit working on my original droid a855