Swype for Android is time limited

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by zerodamage, Jan 4, 2010.

  1. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    haven't seen it yet. paranoia rarely provides proof :)

    Short of living like the uni-bomber we're all accessible someway, somehow. You pay no attention to it in your daily life, why stress over your phone? Just use some common sense what you use your phone for, and you'll be fine :)
     
  2. pandroid

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    someone turn there clock back to like 2000 and see what happens

    i would but i got rid of swype. its quick and easy, but the layout just bugs me. wish it was skinnable
     
  3. Anonymouse

    Anonymouse Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only typing it collects is if you type a new word, so it can add it to its dictionary.
     
  4. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's a beta project of a whole new order. How else do you think they can get enough information to proceed (i.e. debug, plan future evolutions ect.). Collecting information in this way is FAR more efficient that forums, emails or any other type of feedback.

    Now, should they inform you of such (so you paranoid nuts can opt out) of course they should. Personally if it helps them build a better product I could care less.
     
  5. LordKastle

    LordKastle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Martin I am just semi-confused...since when is the version of Swype some of us installed "time-limited?" That indicates that it will randomly stop working at some point. I must have over-looked the text upon installation because I never read that it would expire in a certain amount of time or from a kill-switch. Where was this found?

    Also, no keyboard app should be recording keystrokes...that is a fact. That is not called collecting data, that is called stealing privacy data. The only reason the OS mentions it when changing keyboards is because that is how a malware app would work. It would pose as a false/fake program and then log all keystrokes.

    I do not believe Swype is logging your keystrokes, but if someone can provide me with data on the contrary then I would like to see it.

    And KZWarrior, no offense but have you lost it? Did you not read my entire post? This is a pirated program not endorsed by Swype..logging keystrokes has nothing to do with debugging a beta program. Seeing me type A A A A A A on my device does not help any troubleshooting.

    My question is where are people coming up with the idea the program is logging keystrokes? Are you just pulling it from your a$$ or have you read something that states that due to it being beta they are recording keystrokes.


     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  6. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is exactly what I wanna have an answer to. I don't see how it is. I never said it was.... I'm on the side that it isn't, unless proof can be given.
     
  7. GolfProRM

    GolfProRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    The warning about key logging comes up on any keyboard app you install. If you notice when you install Swype, it does not have internet permissions, so even if it did log everything, it couldn't do anything with it.
     
  8. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok ok. Some sanity and reasoning at last.
     
  9. LordKastle

    LordKastle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That was my point a while ago...when changing the keyboard method in settings, it will say that warning every time. It says this because if someone was to download a fake malware program as a keyboard, it has the potential to log every stroke.

    I just don't get the idea of how people go from that to saying something along the lines of "of course it logs keystrokes does due to it being a beta program." If you could show me anything of that nature, then please show me...KZIWarrior or whoever.
     
  10. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really? Every day on every discussion forum I visit there are examples of people reading what they want to read versus what is actually written. Doesn't seem like too much of a leap for people to misunderstand the canned warnings when they install apps. They're just assuming that "can" means "does".

    Just because you don't understand doesn't mean that they're morons. It's entirely possible that they don't want to support each and every individual user per the other threads on Swype. It's entirely possible that they have other reasons as well. Micropayments may work for many developers but that doesn't mean that they work for all developers.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  11. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Professor Ray, (sorry for putting your name front and center) had some good insight as to why Swype would push for OEM only. It was either earlier posts in this thread, or the other Swype thread.
     
  12. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    I never said that in fact it DID, just that I would not be surprised if it did nor would I particularly care. IF it did the data collected would be huge and analyzed by computers not see by anyone (here it comes, 'someone could see it')... guess what, someone at Google, Amazon, Verizon ect. has WAY more important 'private' information on you that is far more easily accessed.
    Beside I'm willing to bet many of you sit at your local coffee shop(s) or your work and use their wi-fi, guess what.... Get a life people, you and your 'private data' aren't as important as you believe. And last I saw 'dumpster diving' and phone scams were still BY FAR the number one means of identity and privacy theft.
     
Search tags for this page

are there swype apps that don't log keystrokes

,

does swype for android record keystrokes

,

record keystrokes on razr hd

,

swype collects keystrokes

,

what kind of data does swype collect?