Swype for Android is time limited

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by zerodamage, Jan 4, 2010.

  1. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    So is noone else worried that Swype can collect all information you type on the screen?

    -Mike
     
  2. Dan.Droid
    Offline

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^^ Really? I shouldn't be surprised, but some how I am...
     
  3. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Someone needs to get working on a time extension. I am starting to love this method of input. I am more than willing to pay for it, but I don't want to get really use to it, only to have it taken away with no options to purchase.
     
  4. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right after the install completed, I got a pop-up telling me as much. I uninstalled it.

    -Mike
     
  5. Dan.Droid
    Offline

    Dan.Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Damn. I didn't take it because I don't like using pirated software. I would rather support programmers that make stuff I like to encourage them to make more. As much as people were raving about this, I was starting to look forward to an officially released version.
     
  6. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well the company stated everyone is free to use the demo, so why not?

    also, why are people so suprised about it collecting data? we are using a "google experience" phone. no company takes more info than google. swype should be the last of your worries.
     
  7. youreunderarrest
    Offline

    youreunderarrest Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Nevada
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you know that the government can hack into your phone and collect every keystroke as well as every action you take on it?

    every keyboard app is required to have a disclaimer like that to avoid any sort of legal problems, just like every app you download from the market tells you what it has access to
     
  8. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    For ****st sakes... you all are sounding like my annoying friend. YES they are collecting information. GET OVER IT... or go back to your antique phones (and I mean the rotary phones)...

    It amazes me how many people think they are so important they think they have to protect themselves... don't do anything dumb and stop worrying. And the above poster was correct, GOOGLE is the leader in collecting data so if you care than you are on the WRONG phone/OS.
     
  9. LordKastle
    Offline

    LordKastle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Collecting data with purpose knowing that the versions we installed will expire? Says who our versions will expire? There are two claims that I have questions to....

    Uninstalled...maybe.

    Anyone who defends "collecting data" from a keyboard app is naive. A keyboard app should be exactly that, a keyboard app to change from default...not to be collecting data.

    The warning given is defaulted by the Android OS when changing to any keyboard app...it does not mean our keystrokes are sync'ing in to a database for Swype. Can anyone confirm Swype actually data collecting?
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  10. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    haven't seen it yet. paranoia rarely provides proof :)

    Short of living like the uni-bomber we're all accessible someway, somehow. You pay no attention to it in your daily life, why stress over your phone? Just use some common sense what you use your phone for, and you'll be fine :)
     
  11. pandroid
    Offline

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    someone turn there clock back to like 2000 and see what happens

    i would but i got rid of swype. its quick and easy, but the layout just bugs me. wish it was skinnable
     
  12. Anonymouse
    Offline

    Anonymouse Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only typing it collects is if you type a new word, so it can add it to its dictionary.
     
  13. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's a beta project of a whole new order. How else do you think they can get enough information to proceed (i.e. debug, plan future evolutions ect.). Collecting information in this way is FAR more efficient that forums, emails or any other type of feedback.

    Now, should they inform you of such (so you paranoid nuts can opt out) of course they should. Personally if it helps them build a better product I could care less.
     
  14. LordKastle
    Offline

    LordKastle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Martin I am just semi-confused...since when is the version of Swype some of us installed "time-limited?" That indicates that it will randomly stop working at some point. I must have over-looked the text upon installation because I never read that it would expire in a certain amount of time or from a kill-switch. Where was this found?

    Also, no keyboard app should be recording keystrokes...that is a fact. That is not called collecting data, that is called stealing privacy data. The only reason the OS mentions it when changing keyboards is because that is how a malware app would work. It would pose as a false/fake program and then log all keystrokes.

    I do not believe Swype is logging your keystrokes, but if someone can provide me with data on the contrary then I would like to see it.

    And KZWarrior, no offense but have you lost it? Did you not read my entire post? This is a pirated program not endorsed by Swype..logging keystrokes has nothing to do with debugging a beta program. Seeing me type A A A A A A on my device does not help any troubleshooting.

    My question is where are people coming up with the idea the program is logging keystrokes? Are you just pulling it from your a$$ or have you read something that states that due to it being beta they are recording keystrokes.


     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  15. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is exactly what I wanna have an answer to. I don't see how it is. I never said it was.... I'm on the side that it isn't, unless proof can be given.
     
Search tags for this page

are there swype apps that don't log keystrokes

,

does swype for android record keystrokes

,

record keystrokes on razr hd

,

swype collects keystrokes

,

what kind of data does swype collect?