Swype doesn't work in Android 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by babykings, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. uflraptor
    Offline

    uflraptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had to follow these same steps to get my Swype to work again. I love Swype.

    Swype working is more important to me than any of the 2.1 features.
  2. EbE404
    Offline

    EbE404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I totally agree. Live wallpaper doesn't help me be more productive or improve data entry ergonomics, but Swype certainly does!
  3. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Assuming you're using the current 5652 true beta version and not the 5612 "pirated" version, do the following:

    () Before doing anything else, go to Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Menu>All applications. (The installer app won't show up unless you do this.)

    () Find the TWO swype files, i.e. both the swype keyboard AND the installer app. UNINSTALL BOTH.

    () Then try reinstalling Swype. If you don't uninstall the installer, the two files can be mismatched, resulting in the condition you describe.

    If this still doesn't work, use Astro or another SD card explorer and search for any file anywhere (including the root directory) with the word "swype" in the name. Delete any you find and try reinstalling.
  4. MontyMo
    Offline

    MontyMo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In:
    Settings>Applications>Language & Keyboard Settings
    Make sure Android Keyboard is de-selected
    and Swipe is selected
  5. KCOTT
    Offline

    KCOTT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. KCOTT
    Offline

    KCOTT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nvm...found this updated version, but now having the issue everyone else in here is having, back to reading

    **okay, now it says the swype package i downloaded doesn't match the screen size of the device...i assume i downloaded the wrong one?
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2010
  7. EbE404
    Offline

    EbE404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, can't help. I got mine through the (now closed) beta. I know there are some of these "leaked" packages floating around, but I'm not sure what the details on those are.
  8. mordo
    Offline

    mordo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry if I missed this in reading this thread but what I am missing with Swype in 2.1 is a microphone icon for voice-to-text input. Is it there or not in the latest version of Swype.
  9. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Works fine for me on 2.1 and Dominator,

    -Mike
  10. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    No voice to text input in Swype at this time. Keep in mind that Swype is neither specific to the Android platform nor does it have features specifically designed for any particular release of the Android platform.
  11. eap369
    Offline

    eap369 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    southern cali
    help!!!!!

    my swipe issue is that after changing the swipe input method it says SWYPE the trial period has ended, please upgrade your copy of swype. did i download the wrong package? does anyone have a link to an installer that might not be expired? ive unistalled it and reinstalled it already
  12. mshain81
    Offline

    mshain81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same with me as the above poster said...
  13. Garemlin
    Offline

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,158
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Delaware
    I am running the official beta test version and had an issue with the 2.1 update. Had to uninstall and have the link resent so I could reinstall. With 2.1 it was basically making it look like a different phone to Swype.
  14. jkahle
    Offline

    jkahle New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do you get swype? I looked it up in the market and cant find it. I have a eris droid
  15. piiman
    Offline

    piiman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm lost with both swype and shapewriter. When I long press on an input field I do not get any option to change input methods. Nothing happens. Also while swype is installed I don't see it listed in programs. But if I go to manage apps it's there and I can uninstalled it. whats up with that?
  16. piiman
    Offline

    piiman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never mind I reinstalled and some other setting magically appeared to set up swype. cool stuff!
Search tags for this page

android 2.1 swype

,
android doesnt swipe
,
android swype doesn't work
,
my phone works but doesnt swipe
,
my swype dictionary doesn't work anymore
,
swipe app doesnt work on android
,
swpe mic want work on cell phone
,
swype doesn't work on y android phone
,
why does my nexus phone not swipe anymore
,
why won't my galaxy s3 swype call anymore
,
why wont my swipe wor
,
why wont swype work on my android