Swype custom keyboards

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by clouse2013, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. clouse2013

    clouse2013 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having trouble installing swype keyboards from this link

    http://www.droid-life.com/2010/04/28/new-swype-custom-themes-for-everyone/

    I am having some trouble uninstalling swype from my phone which it says to do in the url. Once I get these keyboards installed, I try to swype words and nothing works. I am on liberty 2.0. If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate it.
    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  2. Darksthour

    Darksthour Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a similar problem when I flashed a new rom. All you have to do is run the installer again. I have a droid 1 and it's still beta so I think they aren't a fan of just installing it anywhere.
     
  3. clouse2013

    clouse2013 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Run the swype installer? Because since my phone is a D2G swype came on my phone. And it won't let me uninstall it through settings.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  4. eMWu

    eMWu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I uninstalled it with Titanium Backup (disable Swype in language & keyboard setting first just in case), then restarted my phone and I was able to install a custom version after that.
    I'm using Swype 2.29.71.20203 now.
     
  5. clouse2013

    clouse2013 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ill give that a try and see if that works. Thanks!

    Edit: Well the keyboard wont even show up after i tried that. It keeps giving me a force close error.

    Edit: I deleted the Swypecore file in system/lib and uninstalled swype through titanium backup. I wiped the dalvik cache(I read on some other site to do this to completely uninstall swype), rebooted the phone. I installed the custom keyboard in the link and it shows up but the problem is when i swype a word, it doesn't work. The just gets a blue outline around the keyboard and it disappears. I can type one letter at a time but the swype part doesn't work.
     
Search tags for this page
stock swype force close on custom rom
,

swype custom keyboard