1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Swype custom keyboards

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by clouse2013, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I'm having trouble installing swype keyboards from this link

    http://www.droid-life.com/2010/04/28/new-swype-custom-themes-for-everyone/

    I am having some trouble uninstalling swype from my phone which it says to do in the url. Once I get these keyboards installed, I try to swype words and nothing works. I am on liberty 2.0. If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate it.
    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  2. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    I had a similar problem when I flashed a new rom. All you have to do is run the installer again. I have a droid 1 and it's still beta so I think they aren't a fan of just installing it anywhere.
  3. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Run the swype installer? Because since my phone is a D2G swype came on my phone. And it won't let me uninstall it through settings.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  4. eMWu
    Offline

    eMWu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I uninstalled it with Titanium Backup (disable Swype in language & keyboard setting first just in case), then restarted my phone and I was able to install a custom version after that.
    I'm using Swype 2.29.71.20203 now.
  5. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Ill give that a try and see if that works. Thanks!

    Edit: Well the keyboard wont even show up after i tried that. It keeps giving me a force close error.

    Edit: I deleted the Swypecore file in system/lib and uninstalled swype through titanium backup. I wiped the dalvik cache(I read on some other site to do this to completely uninstall swype), rebooted the phone. I installed the custom keyboard in the link and it shows up but the problem is when i swype a word, it doesn't work. The just gets a blue outline around the keyboard and it disappears. I can type one letter at a time but the swype part doesn't work.
Search tags for this page
stock swype force close on custom rom
,

swype custom keyboard