Swype Beta for Android™ - Updated Installer & Application!

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Corinacakes, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    is pleased to offer an update to our Beta for Android!
    I just got this email from swype. apparently it IS still beta for android!



    First, we would like to extend our thanks for taking part in the Swype Beta. Your participation has helped us improve Swype and we hope you’ll continue to provide us with your insights and feedback.
    Second, we are happy to announce that we've updated our beta software with several bug fixes and features. As such we’d like to invite you to download a new installer and put a new version of Swype on your handset to take advantage of the many improvements. The current version expires in the next couple days, so please do download the new version!

    Sign-up for the Beta Program - Swype | Text Input for Screens

    Users who aren’t in the beta program yet won’t be able to install Swype Beta as you have to download an installer, log-in then download swpye itself.


    Once you’ve installed the beta, enjoy it! Please report any issues you encounter on our forums. So we can troubleshoot more effectively, when reporting issues please include as much of the following information as possible:
    Phone Make/Model
    Android OS (or ROM) version
    Swype version
    What behavior did you expect to see?
    What behavior did you actually see?
    Did you uninstall Swype and the SwypeInstaller first?
    Is the device rooted?

    You are also welcome to send email to androidbeta@swype.com with additional feedback or questions. We are happy to get emails and will answer questions as soon as we can, but please remember to also check our forums for answers!
    Thanks again for your help and support,
    -The Swype Team
    --Changes in this version of Swype--


    • Added better context sensitivity for the “magic button” (go/search/enter/smiley)
    • Added automatic apostrophe insertion for contractions (e.g. won't, don't, wasn't, etc)
    • Added the Italian language dictionary
    • Improved sensing of field type to prevent the display and addition of passwords to the UDB (user dictionary)
    • Improved suppression of auto-spacing in fields such as URLs and email addresses
    • Updated the built-in dictionary to include several common words that were previously missing
    • Rewrote some settings descriptions to be more clear on their functionality
    • Fixed licensing issue causing “Limited Functionality” errors when rebooting devices running Android 2.0 and later
    • Fixed licensing issue causing some users to receive an “Incorrect ID” error when installing Swype
    • Fixed a bug where manually typing some words with word-prediction enabled would cause Swype to crash
    • Fixed a bug which caused some words added to the UDB to erroneously override other words when word-prediction is enabled
    • Many other minor bug fixes!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 8, 2010
  2. dusbbal2008

    dusbbal2008 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    not working for me. i uninstalled the old version and installed the new versions and now whenever i swype i just the blue rectangle around the keyboard like it doesn't recognize it. It is working fine for single key entry though.
     
  3. misterMAG

    misterMAG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Long press the text box > Switch to another keyboard > then switch back.

    That generally solves that problem.

    ----

    In other news, with all respect to the mod, but I thought DF wasn't allowing the download of swype to non-beta users. Correct me if I'm wrong...
     
  4. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Another mod pm'd me about it and I told him to feel free to delete. I have no control of this section. I didn't realize there were "opened" and "closed" beta versions.
     
  5. misterMAG

    misterMAG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah. I see. Well, again no disprespect. :)

    I downloaded it and it requires a beta email/password login. So, that solves that :icon_ banana:
     
  6. bb-gun

    bb-gun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Re: Swype Beta for Android™ - Updated Installer & Application!

    It won't let me swype either. Everyone with the old swype, see if your version number is the same as the one shown in the pic I attached
     
  7. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's working fine for me. maybe reinstall it?

    and yes i had to sign in to get this too.
     
  8. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    no problemo :D
     
  9. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    I edited the OP to include the link to sign-up for the Beta.
    A download link for one will not work for another.
     
  10. armeddroid

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    Says they already closed the Beta...or do we need to register to get it?
     
  11. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    I think you need to register. When I first got swype it was an apk. I think everyone is going to have expired swypes again soon
     
  12. armeddroid

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    ahhh, ok..thanks girl. I appreciate that.
    I will try an see if can sign up.
    Good looking out.
    :D
     
  13. dusbbal2008

    dusbbal2008 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just downloaded and have the same version number as you and it will not let me swype either
     
  14. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Dang am I the only one with a working version? :shocked:
     
  15. dusbbal2008

    dusbbal2008 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running BB v 1.1. What ROM are you currently running? I just restored my old version of swype through titanium and deleted the new version until this gets corrected or whatever.
     
Search tags for this page
android descargar installer application
,
my droid just updated and i can't find swype function 2014
,

swype beta android 2.1

,

swype beta installer 2.1

,

swypebeta 2.1