1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Swype BETA 3.25

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by lotus22, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. lotus22
    Offline

    lotus22 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone have any luck installing the new beta for Swype? According to Swype | Text Input for Screens 3.25 is out but it always downloads the old version of Swype.

    Maybe Swype thinks that the Droid X comes pre-loaded with Swype and cannot run the new version.
  2. km75
    Offline

    km75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just installed it yesterday on my girlfriends galaxy s. The first thing i had to do was un-install the previous version before installing the latest version.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  3. lotus22
    Offline

    lotus22 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, I've tried this. I have the Swype installer 12.16 which is the latest.
  4. km75
    Offline

    km75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok but the swype installer wouldnt be the issue. Did you delete the actual older swype application before you tried to download the newest version? I didnt do that the first time around and i experienced the same thing you did. It installed but with the exact same version. Only when i un-installed the older version did it actually install the 3.25 version.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  5. lotus22
    Offline

    lotus22 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks man. I'm sure I did this yesterday and it downloaded the same version.

    I cleared the data from Swype and then uninstalled and then hit the Swype installer again and 3.25 downloaded.
  6. km75
    Offline

    km75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah thats the steps i took to get it to work correctly. Sorry to hear it isnt working for you. Hopefully someone else on these forums will be able to help you to get it to work. Good luck.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  7. lotus22
    Offline

    lotus22 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No it now WORKS after uninstalling Swype and then hitting the installer. Must have been something on Swype's side yesterday.
  8. km75
    Offline

    km75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad to hear that. Im sure you will enjoy it because the additional features are pretty cool.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  9. JWellington
    Offline

    JWellington New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Swype just keeps improving more and more....if only it could read your mind. Just when I thought it couldn't get any better.

    Swyped from my DROIDX from Tapatalk.
  10. pjniez
    Offline

    pjniez New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    How did you uninstall Swype on your Droid X? I thought it couldn't be installed since it was preinstalled on the DX? The last time I did this on my DX, I was rooted and had to delete all of tvs parts of Swype manually.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. JWellington
    Offline

    JWellington New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need root access, then use titanium backup to uninstall it. Remove the installer too. Turn reboot the phone and proceed to install.

    Swyped from my DROIDX from Tapatalk.
  12. pjniez
    Offline

    pjniez New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ah... Okay. That sounds a heck of a lot easier than what I did!

    Thanks!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  13. ChAiNsAw
    Offline

    ChAiNsAw New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the Thunderbolt, anyone else having issues with auto space and capitalize??? Just installed version 3.25. The options are all checked but it still will not capitalize the first word in a sentence, nor will it auto space...driving me crazy!!! It even promts me not to bother using the space bar even when it doesn't work!
Search tags for this page

old apps download older swype