Swype and rooted

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by siggy_freud, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. siggy_freud
    Offline

    siggy_freud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I rooted to 2.2 about a month before the official update started rolling out. First off, it hasn't asked me to update OTA like I thought it would.

    Secondly, the Swype beta for 2.2 doesn't seem to work with this ROM. Anyone had any luck? I got it installed, but it said it couldn't register correctly. It works if I punch the actual keys, but the swyping feature doesn't work at all. It said "this version isn't intended for this device and some functions may be limited". Hmmmm.

    If not, I'll be looking at going back to stock. If that is the case, can anyone recommend a good tutorial on going 100% back to stock?

    Thanks all!
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2010
  2. Freelancer
    Offline

    Freelancer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    SPRecovery blocks OTAs from installing, and some (most?) ROMs will block even the notifications of OTAs.

    Swype, not sure, haven't used the beta, but there's other keyboards out there like SlideIt that are very similar (SlideIt is paid but also has a free trial).

    For unrooting back to stock, here's a great set of instructions from Christim: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html

    You'd really go back to stock just to use swype? It is still in beta right? Maybe it's something that'll get fixed with the next swype update?
  3. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There has been a New Swype Beta Release in the previous week, all pre-existing versions are unable to be registered, meaning they will not Swype, if you are a Beta tester they should have emailed you a new install package

    Chances are this has nothing to do with being Rooted or your ROM
  4. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You say "this ROM" - which ROM is that?

    I'm running CyanogenMod 6, and I had the same problem with Swype when I updated it. I was able to resolve it, though, and get Swype working fine again. It required some magical combination of installing it, clearing data, removing it, rebooting, and reinstalling it to get it to work. My guess is that the beta install mechanism doesn't handle updates very well, so you need to clear out anything swype related (force stop, clear data, uninstall apps, reboot) before updating it.
  5. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Swype can be tricky and you have to be careful and make sure you remove everything. In a new cases, I've had to reboot between removing and reinstalling. The forums at Swype have a detailed process recommended by the beta manager that may be of use to some.
Search tags for this page
swype for rooted phone
,

swype on rooted phone