Swype 3.0

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by k1ngr4t, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. k1ngr4t

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    Current Phone Model:
    Turbo Power Activate
    Anyone know much about it? I personally love Swype. Tried Swiftkey, definitely not bad and I was impressed by the "smart keyboard" aspect for sure, but I just miss the ease of Swype. I read somewhere, can't remember where, that Swype 3.0 will be included in an update for phones with Swype pre-installed, I THINK it said it was separate from ICS, and I'm pretty sure Bionic was mentioned specifically (horrible memory). I'm wondering if anyone knows if even the leaked updates had the newest version of Swype and nobody really checked? If not, has anyone else heard anything about when it will be rolling out?
     
  2. horr1blek1tten

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you go to the official website it'll let you install swype 3.0 beta pretty much the same thing as the official. if you want to install on a device that has it preinstalled, you have to root and freeze/uninstall the preinstalled swype then install

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  3. k1ngr4t

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    Current Phone Model:
    Turbo Power Activate
    I was reading through the instructions and they seemed kind of risky, not sure if I wanted to go through with it, especially if the update will be rolling out relatively soon...
     
  4. horr1blek1tten

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's why you can freeze it. Or just wait

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  5. k1ngr4t

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    Current Phone Model:
    Turbo Power Activate
    Yes I'm aware of this work around. My question is if anyone on HERE knows anything about the official update included in any OTA. Will probably be ICS but...doesn't hurt to ask.
     
  6. horr1blek1tten

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most likely not just a separate ota a together

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  7. lykofos

    lykofos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I haven't installed any of the leaked updates, so not sure if they include an updated version of Swype.

    I love Swype too, my favorite texting / typing method and the personal dictionary in the newest version is a nice addition.

    It's actually not too complicated, but you do have to be rooted, and backing up the original pre-installed Swype with Titanium Backup Pro before you delete it is recommended. I got it installed fairly easily and it's been working great with no problems. I just followed the steps in this thread: ATTN: Swype lovers - Android Forums. The newest post detailing the procedure is near the bottom of the page, but here's a copy / paste to make it easier:
     
  8. JohnnytheK

    JohnnytheK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +61
    Just checked out their website: "If your phone come pre-installed with Swype DO NOT download this beta (it won't work)"

    Swype is the only reason I gave up a physical keyboard!
     
  9. k1ngr4t

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    Current Phone Model:
    Turbo Power Activate
    See when I read that I assumed they meant it won't work...unless you root and uninstall first.

    My main concern is I'd rather have the official OTA than the beta. I'd like to try the beta, but I'm getting mixed signals on if there's a risk involved, such as not being able to go back and get the official OTA, even if you just rename the original APK, though I'm probably just being paranoid. If someone can reassure me that it really is as simple as renaming, moving, and installing, and when it is released I can uninstall the beta, simply rename the original back to .apk, and bam get the update...then I'll just get the beta. ;)
     
  10. horr1blek1tten

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's why if your rooted freeze the preinstalled ten your good

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  11. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    I can't believe they didn't think of this and make the preinstalled version of Swype OTA self updating. It could work just like the Market, where it updates itself in the background.
     
  12. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Yeah that's true. IIRC, there were comments that the makers of Swype initially just wanted to work with the phone manufacturers to be pre-installed and less with people installing it themselves. Well, if that's true, they need to update here as well.