Switching to Silent Mode When the Screen is Locked

Discussion in 'LG G2' started by Ragtop99, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. Ragtop99

    Ragtop99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bethesda MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to switch to vibrate or silent mode when the screen is locked? On my razor it could be done through the buttons.
    I thought about adding a locked screen widget, but don't see a way to add a widget to the list it provides.
     
  2. devdeuce

    devdeuce Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    You can adjust sound settings from the swipe down menu, which works from the lock screen as well. Considering you'd have to slide a shortcut all the way to unlock anyway, it's just as fast to access sound from the swipe down menu.

    there is no spoon
     
    #2 devdeuce, Jan 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2014
  3. Ragtop99

    Ragtop99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bethesda MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately the swipe down menu does not work when my screen is locked.
     
  4. devdeuce

    devdeuce Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Is it because you have password protect on or something like that? I just have swipe to unlock and it works fine, or is it a difference between the g2s on different carriers?

    there is no spoon
     
  5. Ragtop99

    Ragtop99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bethesda MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, there is a password lock. Even with it locked, I can launch the camera. It also allows some other widgets to be used, but not the complete list of widgets.
     
  6. scott craft

    scott craft Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Lake Charles, LA
    Ratings:
    +8
    What happens when you wake the phone with the power button then press and hold the button like you were going to turn it off? I don't have a screen lock, but using the power button I can bring up a menu with options to switch the phone to vibrate.
     
  7. devdeuce

    devdeuce Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Good call! I just tested that and it works. Only for vibrate, but better than nothing. I guess you could also try putting settings as a lock screen shortcut. I think I'll be sticking with slide to unlock though and just never let anyone touch my phone.

    there is no spoon
     
  8. Ragtop99

    Ragtop99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bethesda MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bingo! I've tried that in the past, but I guess I didn't hold the button down long enough. Thank you both for the help.
     
  9. scott craft

    scott craft Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Lake Charles, LA
    Ratings:
    +8
    Glad I could help! I don't use the power button much because I don't have a lock, but it is handy at times.
     
Search tags for this page
does lg g2 make noises when switching between screens?
,

droid maxx switching to silent mode

,

droid maxx vibrate widget for lock screen

,
how do i add a silent mode to my home screen on a razor
,
how do i place my android lg razr phone on silent mode
,

lg g2 toggle vibrate

,
lock screen sound slider widget droid razr
,
razr maxx vibrate mode lock screen
,
s3 silent mode toggle in lockscreen
,
screen lock silent mode on droid razr