Switching Roms

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by shaggykid, Nov 30, 2011.

  1. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    How hard/easy is it to switch roms?

    I'm currently using liquid but I wanted to try some other ones out.

    Whatcare the steps I need to take?

    Sent from your mom's house using my Droid X
  2. clueless77
    Offline

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    Brad92 swears by boot manager, i havent ever used it, i just do the flash process every time i wanna try a new ROM, you can make backups of your favorites and restore them just like your stock backup
  3. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    How do I make individual backups?

    Sent from your mom's house using my Droid X
  4. clueless77
    Offline

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    You made a backup of your stock rooted device CWM correct?

    BAD ASS X
  5. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I backed up my phone before flashing Liquid using Titanium. But I don't see how to make a seperate backup with it.

    Sent from your mom's house using my Droid X
  6. DanQ
    Offline

    DanQ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Install ROM Manager. It's an essential tool.

    With it, I switch ROMs a little more frequently than I should.
  7. clueless77
    Offline

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    In CWM there's an option to backup and restore, that's where you can make backups of the whole system and restore them

    BAD ASS X
  8. clueless77
    Offline

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have never backed up nor flashed a ROM through ROM manager, I never had any luck, I just prefer to do all wipes and flashes manually

    BAD ASS X
  9. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I just downloaded Rom manager and made a backup of Liquid. What would be my next step?

    Sent from your mom's house using my Droid X
  10. clueless77
    Offline

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    Out of my realm now, like I said I do everything from CWM recovery

    BAD ASS X
  11. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm wingin it haha

    Sent from your mom's house using my Droid X
  12. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    So I tried doing Liberty 3 wiped data and all that good stuff.. got caught in a boot loop. So I restored Liquid.

    Anything I'm doing wrong?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  13. clueless77
    Offline

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    Did you use ROM manager

    BAD ASS X
  14. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  15. clueless77
    Offline

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yeah that's why I never use it, just use CWM recovery like you did when flashing liquid, make a back up there first then wipe data, cache, dalvik and flash and you do have a gapps zip right

    BAD ASS X
Search tags for this page

sick backgrounds