1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Switching roms

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by draexo, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Any info on switching between various GB roms? I am on 596 ... I'd like to try Apex and Liberty. Any advice our how to?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  2. razorloves
    Offline

    razorloves New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the instructions for installing the rom are in each of the threads for those roms. To switch between them, you just make a backup and restore with clockworkmod recovery.

    Do you need help finding the rom thread where the install instructions are?
  3. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC

    I am familiar with Nandroid backup. So I could have multiple backups and switch between them? Would I need to wipe data and cache each time? Does titanium backup work across roms?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. gimlet72
    Offline

    gimlet72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach
    Yes you want to wipe data and cache between roms. Also make sure the rom is based on. 596. Zombie stomped is not.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    I was thinking of Apex and Liberty. I do not know of any other .596 roms
    yet.

    Thanks!
  6. gimlet72
    Offline

    gimlet72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach
    I always wipe data, unless I am applying a theme then I just wipe cache. I would rather restore with titanium then flash without a wipe and have it not work.
  7. gimlet72
    Offline

    gimlet72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Palm Beach
    Drew Garen (might be spelled wrong just Google it) has a couple. 596 on his website.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Yes,he is in Rom Manager as well. Liberty nightly won't download...been like that a while so I'm heading over to give Apex a try first.


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

change between custom roms in android