Switching memory cards?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by boomerang, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. boomerang

    boomerang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all! Im trying to install a bigger memory card. I copied all the files with the original card, formatted my new card with FAT32, then pasted all the folders into the new card. I found though that my phone randomly freezes and I have to do a battery pull. Thank goodness I didn't wipe the original card! So what is the best way to install the new card?


    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  2. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would copy the card contents to the computer, reformat the card using the phone and then copy the contents back to the card.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  3. boomerang

    boomerang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought of that, but the option to format the card is grayed out and I can't select it.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  4. StoneCutter

    StoneCutter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The "format" option is grayed out if the card is mounted. Unmount the card first (the menu option just above format) and then the format button should work.
     
  5. StingRay

    StingRay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes, Google123's method is the way to go...

    I moved over to a 16G that was previously in my Droid...worked fine by copying contents onto computer, then format card in Pro...move contents to new card in Pro....
     
  6. WillDroid

    WillDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this work the same for a 32gb card? I thought Id read people saying not to format the 32gb with the phone.
     
  7. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had a 16GB card that i have moved from phone to phone for a while now and always reformat it using the phone. Never have a problem. :)

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  8. boomerang

    boomerang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried all steps discussed above and the card is still freezing my phone up. Any ideas?


    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  9. StingRay

    StingRay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have a micro sd card reader, connect it with your sd card to your computer....once your computer sees the card, open file explorer and then right click on the drive designated for your card and select "Format"...make sure you choose "Fat" for your file system and" 32 kilobytes" for allocation unit size.

    You should be able to then eject the sd card, install in phone, the move your saved files over...

    Hope that works...


    Sent from my DROID PRO using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

droid bionic where does the memory chip go?

,

droid pro change memory cards

,

droid pro how do i read storage card

,

droid x2 switching memory card

,

how do i change the memory card of an android dna

,

how do i switch out a 16gb memory card for a 32gb emory card

,

switching memory cards from phone

,

switching memory cards galaxy s3

,

switching sd cards between droidx and samsung

,

when switching a memory card in a droid pro