Switching from BB

tchalm

Reaction score
Hi!
I've had a Droid4 for about 6 weeks now, and I have to admit that the love has not begun yet. My first Droid4 lasted three weeks and then died - completely - in one afternoon - it was all charged in the morning, but when I pulled it out my pocket it was a useless brick. Verizon replaced it but I've been taking it easy on adding apps that might run the battery down.

I had been using BB for 5 years, so there are things that I haven't figured out how to do yet. Such as...

Set all tones to silent leaving vibrate on in two clicks. Right now I go to the sound settings and slide all four sliders down individually, and sometimes it takes three tries to get a slider to move. There should be one click that turns all four off at once. And it doesn't look like SmartActions does that.

Increase the amount of vibrating for notifications. Right now, the vibrate is too short and not "loud" enough.

Use different ring tones for email and text messages. Right now it looks like they're the same.

Turn on auto-stabilization for the camera.

Automatic syncing with Outlook calendar, task list, and note pad, without a lot of other hassle (I kind of don't like the way Google scans everything in order to send personalized ads.) I tried MyPhoneExplorer on my first Droid4 which lasted three weeks and then died - completely - in one afternoon - it was all charged in the morning, but when I pulled it out my pocket it was a useless brick. Verizon replaced it but I've been hesitant to add the same apps to the new phone.

Secure password app (I use KeePass on my Windows machines, so I may use that.)

These questions seem so obvious to me I'm surprised that they aren't addressed in the stock Android apps.

I imagine these questions have been answered, so I'll look around. But it would be cool if you have those links handy.

Thanks.
TChalm

JSM9872

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S22+