switching from 4g to 3g?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S4' started by TuBitMittens, Aug 10, 2013.

  1. TuBitMittens
    Offline

    TuBitMittens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I was wondering if there was any way for me to switch from my s4's 4g lte connection to a 3g connection? My sisters iphone 5 does this so I feel my phone should do the same. Just to save data and power. Thanks in advance
  2. wcjeep
    Offline

    wcjeep Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
    I use an App called Phone Info. It's on my phone, no longer in the Play Store. There have been other apps in the past. I think Verizon squashes them. 3G Connection is CDMA(auto PRL). I use it when out in the woods when no 4G is available.
  3. matukqo
    Offline

    matukqo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Not sure if its there in the S4 (touchwiz may have changed it all up) but if you go into the settings then go into mobile network settings (under Wireless & Networks -> click on either the mobile network symbol or click more) and it should have a line that shows Network mode. This setting will allow you to change which network mode you would like to use.

    May be in a different place all together, this is how I got to it on my Tbolt.
  4. TuBitMittens
    Offline

    TuBitMittens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Could u possibly send me an updated link of the apk file for the app? They have an app in tue store called phone info but idk if its the right one. Thanks again
  5. davidwilp
    Offline

    davidwilp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    On the thunder bolt we used to dial into the keypad *#*4636#*#* That would bring up a screen where we could turn off 4G. I would like to be able to do the same sometimes on the S4
  6. dezymond
    Online

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,890
    Likes Received:
    625
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I'd follow the advice in this thread: [Q] 3G/4G LTE switch - xda-developers


    Also switching to 3g won't save you data, data is data. The only difference between the two is speed and the fact you can call and use data at the same time on 4g, otherwise 100mb on 3g is the same as 100mb on 4g.
  7. wcjeep
    Offline

    wcjeep Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
  8. TuBitMittens
    Offline

    TuBitMittens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So it wont use data slower? Back when I had my droid with 3g I thought I was using data less rapidly wheb checking thw usage. I figuree 3g was less demanding in data. I dont mean to say itll save me data completely like wifi does but are u saying it wont use it at a slower rate?
  9. mountainbikermark
    Offline

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,439
    Likes Received:
    493
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It's a time thing. Faster data speeds move more data in the same amount of time. Slower data speeds move less data in the same amount of time.
    Let's take my Verizon as an example. On a good signal using lte you'll be able to check your usage in about 5-10 seconds and be done. Using a 3g speed with an average signal the exact same task will take 30+ seconds. You moved the same amount of data in a differing time span.
    With us being time oriented, if we can do the same thing in less time we have a tendency to do more to fill up the leftover time by nature, thus using more data overall. When we could only do 1 task in a minute we'd do 1 task in a minute. Since we can do more tasks with lte in that same minute, we have a tendency to do more tasks.
    Add in that more Android apps are free but use ads we use more data on Android while loading up the ads while we use the free app when they refresh their ads.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
    1 person likes this.
  10. m3incorp
    Offline

    m3incorp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The reason that some people back in the day would have their phones switch from 4G to 3G, is for the times when they were in an area with no or poor 4G reception, that way they could switch to 3G and save battery life by not having the phone continuously searching for a 4G signal.
  11. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Verizon would never let that happen, God forbid you use less data, the new plans where implemented for a reason, and that is for you to burn through your data asap so they can bang you with additional data charges . On another note I don't care, I have unlimited data plan.
  12. alansolo8
    Offline

    alansolo8 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine is automatic, when signal is good, there's 4G, otherwise it revert back to 3G.
  13. melissambwilkins
    Offline

    melissambwilkins New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Back in the day?

    Back in the day? I' lm STILL in an area with no 4G! My husband works in a nearby city with excellent 4G, and he comes home with 87% of his battery remaining. I have the same phone and lose 10% EVERY HOUR! I'm desperately searching for a setting or app that will let me turn off 4G and still let the phone work. So far, every time I try something, I lose the ability to text, use the Internet, etc. It's VERY frustrating!
  14. melissambwilkins
    Offline

    melissambwilkins New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine switches to 3G when there's no 4G, too, but it constantly looks for that 4G that it's not going to find, which is why I think my battery drains like it's powering my car or something. Never had such a problem with a 4G phone until I got the S4. It stinks.
Search tags for this page
change 4g to 3g
,
how to change 3g to 4g
,
how to change 3g to 4g on android
,
how to change 4g to 3g
,

how to change 4g to 3g on samsung galaxy s4

,
how to change from 3g to 4g
,
how to change from 4g to 3g
,
how to switch 4g to 3g
,
how to switch from 3g to 4g
,

how to switch from 4g to 3g

,
how to switch from 4g to 3g on galaxy s4
,
switch from 4g to 3g