Switching Contacts from EnV2 to Eris

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by prncs042, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. prncs042
    Offline

    prncs042 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I just got my Eris tonight and for some reason in the store they kept getting an error when switching my contacts from my EnV2 to the Eris. Can someone please help me switch my contacts without having to input each of my 350 contacts individually? I tried Bluetoothing my contacts to my computer (since the 2 phones wouldn't sync together) and then putting the contacts onto the phones folder on my macbook but got nothing. I can't figure out how to import more than one contact at a time to my g-mail either to do it that way. I'm ready to scream and think that this could be a reason for me to take this phone back since I need all my contacts. Someone please help me.
  2. divalibra
    Offline

    divalibra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I exported my contacts from backup assistant into an Excel file then created a gmail account in which I imported the file with my contacts. If you have backup assistant then just log into your account and the exact directions will be there..hope this helps.
  3. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    This is exactly how to do it. If you go into the get it now programs, there should be one called backup assistant. When you use it, it will backup all your contacts from the phone onto your verizon account. From there you can download the csv file and import them into your phone. It's very easy to do both, if you need any help with it, just shoot me a PM or reply on here and someone will help. :)
  4. LoneWolfArcher
    Offline

    LoneWolfArcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Worked for me 2.
  5. fbm111
    Offline

    fbm111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. prncs042
    Offline

    prncs042 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My issue though is my phone number is now attached to the Eris, so I can't download the Backup Assistant on the EnV2. I really don't want to have to go through all the stuff with switching everything back to the EnV2 to download the backup program then have to put everything back on the Eris. If there's an easier way I'd rather do it. Does anyone know how to get the bluetooth on the Eris to connect (rather than just be paired) to another device? I could easily send everything that way if it would work. I'll probably end up just going back to the Verizon store and making them figure out a way to do it. Right now I'm not positive having internet on my phone is worth all this.
  7. LoneWolfArcher
    Offline

    LoneWolfArcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    If you had back-up assistant before you should still have it now.
  8. prncs042
    Offline

    prncs042 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Issue is that I never had the backup assistant on the env2.
  9. LoneWolfArcher
    Offline

    LoneWolfArcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ouch.

    Help her Verizon store, you're her only hope.
  10. fbm111
    Offline

    fbm111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay in that case then...

    1. Grab envy 2 and reactivate...*228....option 1.....follow prompts
    2. Remove your download blocks if you have any. download backup assistant. sync your contacts.
    3. Reactivate eris and follow link:)

    It is a free download and free service as long as you are registered to log into myverizon account. If not registered then register prior to do this.
  11. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    At this point, this is exactly what I would say to do. It's very simple to do, it doesn't change anything on the phones at all, just changes which one is active. And once your done you just switch it right back. If we had sim cards this wouldn't be an issue :icon_evil:. But we will soon enough so then it should put an end to all this. 4G WOOHOO!
  12. mrhomiec
    Offline

    mrhomiec New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just to let you know, i too had the same problem going from an EnV2 to Eris.

    luckily tho alot of my contacts were in my gmail, so i just had to type in all my non-gmail contacts.
  13. bryanthecomputerguy
    Offline

    bryanthecomputerguy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Just did this for my wife's EnV2. Worked like a charm.
Search tags for this page
envy 2 export contacts
,

get contacts off env2

,
how do you save all contacts to switch from a lg envâ® 2 to
,
how to get my backed up contacts onto my verizon env2
,
how to transfer contacts from envy to droid
,
how to transfer contacts from my env2
,

transfer contacts from env2 to android

,
transfer contacts from lg env 2 to android
,

transfer contacts from lg env to droid

,
transfer contacts from lg env2 to galaxy s4