Switching Carriers.....

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by chubby22, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. chubby22

    chubby22 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have a quick question. If you place this phone on a different carrier, the bloatware that Verizon has on this phone, can it be removed, or is still stuck on here? Thinking about making a switch to T-Mobile....

    Sent from my XT1080 using Droid Forums
     
  2. cybertj.2000

    cybertj.2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camby, IN
    Ratings:
    +12
    Would still probably require root since they are installed as part of the updates. I may be wrong but that's what I think. They can always be disabled but still take up space.
     
  3. chubby22

    chubby22 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for the reply. I was kind of figuring that would be the case.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Droid Forums
     
  4. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    My Verizon Note2 kept the Verizon bloatware when I switched to T-Mobile. It was really just a changing of the SIM card only and a couple of tweaks to network settings done by the rep at T-Mobile to make it a T-Mobile Note2.

    Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk
     
  5. chubby22

    chubby22 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thank you for the info!

    Sent from my XT1080 using Droid Forums
     
  6. TheDroidURLookinFor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Anything that came with the phone...stays with the phone. Some you can disable and some you can't. If you root you can delete them. Though I don't know how well that would work with OTA updates. Hell I don't even know how well OTA updates would work on another carrier. Anyone can chime in who knows for sure.
     
  7. chubby22

    chubby22 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +6
    That's something to think about as well. OTA updates. But definitely wouldn't want Verizon bloatware and another carriers bloatware combined.
     
  8. TheDroidURLookinFor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I doubt they could so you are just stuck with Verizon's bloat.