Switching between 3g and 4g

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by lmpmd, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. lmpmd

    lmpmd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've heard 3g uses less battery. Can I set my razor maxx to 3g for occasional use? And then go back to 4g when I want to? It would seem a good feature for battery conservation. How do I do this or is it even possible?
     
  2. Benton

    Benton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do this by going to Settings then Wireless and Networks then Mobile networks then Network Mode. Select CDMA/LTE to enable 4G or select CDMA only to lock on just 3G.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  3. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,134
    Likes Received:
    973
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +1,022
    Current Phone Model:
    Z Force / Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    If you go into settings - wireless & network settings - mobile networks - network mode - change to CDMA only, it will not search for 4g and then you would use the same process to change to CDMA/LTE and it would connect to 4g when available...
     
  4. Raydee35

    Raydee35 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    It makes a big difference in battery life when I use 3g only compared to 4g. I really only use 4g for large downloads.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  5. Rory.Gibb

    Rory.Gibb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a small app/widget that reduces the clicking necessary to enable or disable 4G/LTE called 4G Toggle. It simply takes you directly to the Mobile Network Settings page on your droid, then as mentioned above you select your Network Mode.
     
  6. Hail

    Hail Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I live in extended network that pulls 3g , if you can believe it the Maxx does better in a 4g area, maybe because it's a extended network? Haven't figured it out yet!!!!

    Sent from my DROID Maxx using DroidForums
     
  7. Trash Can

    Trash Can Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Ratings:
    +25
    With the phone set to LTE/CDMA in a 4G area, the phone doesn't need to use extra power searching for a signal that it wants to use. The phone prefers LTE in this configuration, although you could save power if you were to switch it to CDMA only.

    With the phone set to LTE/CDMA in a 3G area, you're using power for 3G plus power looking for a (non-existent) 4G signal. CDMA only will save a lot of battery in 3G areas.
     
  8. Hail

    Hail Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I leave on cdma ..... then switch when I hit 4g area.... I believe it's the extended network .... reason I believe is because I had the Thunderbolt before and had similar battery discharge ....

    Sent from my DROID Maxx using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
how do i change my phone from 3g to 4g
,
how do i change my phone to 4g
,

how to change 3g to 4g

,
how to change from 3g to 4g
,
how to change my phone from 4g to 3g
,

how to change your phone from 3g to 4g

,

how to change your phone to 4g

,
how to switch from 3g to 4g
,
how to switch from 4g to 3g
,
how to switch your phone to 4g