Switched from Moto Droid to Moto Devour (love it) but How do I Switch My Contacts!?

Discussion in 'Motorola Devour' started by M.J.H., Feb 27, 2010.

  1. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Log onto your G-mail account and see if your contacts are in proper order there. They should sync right back to the Devour. The cloud is a helpful thing :)
     
  2. M.J.H.

    M.J.H. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. M.J.H.

    M.J.H. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought the Devour yesterday from Best Buy they had a bunch of them in stock. This was in Wilmington, DE if it's helpful to anyone.
     
  4. M.J.H.

    M.J.H. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This did not work, this is what I was hoping would work. I was getting the error message when trying to import "version is not the same" etc.
     
  5. truckrod

    truckrod Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm well i had a sim prob with my juckberry tour n i did find them in the contacts in the back up file on the pc win i was usin bbmanger i pulled it up n scrolled threw n found them u gotta look hard threw all the script but they are in there ... also did you try to move the vcad file in your pc from one card file to the next that may work ..
     
  6. Edmvr6

    Edmvr6 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont really like it , it looks like an old school remote control.. and also they say its heavier then the droid so that a deal breaker for me. Just my opinion.. good luck with it though
     
  7. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    I dont get it, are you saying the droid keyboard wasnt "workable"? Or did you switch from the eris?
     
  8. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    im even more confused......Cool the devour is available but why a picture next to a BB
     
  9. amyk

    amyk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is just a guess, but sign into your VW account online---somewhere in there, you can get to your contacts,
    then download them into a csv file and save it to your computer,
    then open up gmail, sync your contacts/download csv file
    then sync your phone to gmail and voila your contacts should be there

    (that's how I got my contacts on my phone initially, and may be missing some steps, as that was months ago lol, but if you call VW cust service, they will walk you through it as well) good luck and hope I at least got you on the right track
     
  10. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    Mobile Phones

    499.00 retail
    99.00 2 yr contract

    Thinking of this phone for my wife
     
  11. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    amyk is right. That's exactly what I did.

    skip that.I mis read. But read the remainder of my post for what I did to get my contacts correctly.

    I don't think vzw backs up your contacts because you can't use backup assist on these phones.

    Go on the droid export your contacts, move the file to your comp upload it through gmail and sync the new phone.
     
  12. amyk

    amyk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    you are correct, this only works if you've used backup asst on a 'dumb' phone before and then VW has your contacts and you can do the above, however, if this is your first phone with VW, then your best bet is to go back to that store and see if they have your old phone (droid) and pay them the fee to do data transfer--correct?? other than that, idk
     
Search tags for this page
cant get contacts off my sd card to my motorola deviour
,
do you need a sd card for wifi motorola devour
,
how to get contacts off a sd card on motorola devour
,

how to import contacts from sd card to motorola devour

,
how to import contacts from sdcard a555 motorola
,
how to import contacts off sd card onto my mottorola deviour
,
how to save contacts to sd card on motorola devour
,
importing from sd card with a devour
,

motorola devour sim card location

,
motorola devour use sim cards?