Switched back to Thunderbolt.

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by RVC, Nov 18, 2011.

  1. RVC
    Offline

    RVC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I got my Rezound on the launch day. Loaded all my apps, SD card, accounts, etc. I really love the phone its smooth and fast and data connectivity is great and the screen is so crisp. But I found that I was missing my rooted phone so I broke out the old TB and put the Rezound back in its box. When S-Off is obtained for the Rezound I will switch back...I guess I am addicted to having g a rooted phone. Anyone else do this?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2011
  2. combatmedic870
    Offline

    combatmedic870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    im not going to do it...but i know how you feel. if my dinc2 had 4g im sure id feel the same :)
  3. nelamvr6
    Offline

    nelamvr6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New London, CT USA
    I un-rooted (de-rooted?) my TBolt a couple of months ago. To me, having a rooted phone was getting to be more and more trouble with less and less benefit. Any update that comes along I would have to wait until a dev had the time to come up with a way for me to install without losing root...

    So no, I didn't switch back to my TBolt just because the Rezound isn't rooted yet, I have no intention of rooting this phone.
  4. hoboX10
    Offline

    hoboX10 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Why do you care so much if the phone is rooted or not?
  5. King_Bean
    Offline

    King_Bean New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THIS. I had a rooted D1 for over a year and a half and I will probably never root again. Rooting is so overratted (to me). These modern phones are just fine out of the box for my needs.
  6. RVC
    Offline

    RVC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because I hate bloatware. This phone could be so much better without all that bloat.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  7. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    220
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    I'm with you, I have almost 60 bloat items (that number still shocks me) frozen on my Bionic. It made the phone faster and I got better battery as a result. I don't see why this wouldn't be the case for any phone.
  8. RVC
    Offline

    RVC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its crazy the amount of bloat on these phones. It man s such a huge difference when it is not there. I guess that is one of the best things about the Galaxy Nexus.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  9. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    I have faith Revolutionary (or someone) will get that permanent s-off sooner than later... the phone is already getting major props among the devs.
  10. GoBears
    Offline

    GoBears New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now I know if you temp root and delete the apps they will re download. What happens if you temp root and freeze them with Rom Toolbox or TB?
  11. mikeinctown
    Offline

    mikeinctown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland
    We shall see. I'd bet there is a TON of crap pre-installed on there.

    I did realize today that the battery life on this thing sucks ass. When I look at power usage though, almost 80% was from the screen, so I know the bloat isn't killing it. Though when I look at the memory number in use, I wish I could permanently freeze some of that stuff. Thats one thing I hated even on my D1, is that some apps kept re-starting even after you go into settings and force close. grrrrrr
  12. Sharrock
    Offline

    Sharrock New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My battery life has been pretty good with gps and music going alot of the time.