1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Switch MMS for BB

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by BRUTAL BROCK, May 28, 2010.

  1. BRUTAL BROCK
    Offline

    BRUTAL BROCK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My stock messaging app isn't installed on my droid anymore. Says exactly that when I go to access it. I'm rooted, BB v1.1, adamz glass theme, moto droid.

    I did set switchmms without thinking, just messing around. Would that remove my mms app if I didn't have one to switch it with?

    Can i download/push the stock app back into my system?

    If so, where can I locate that file?

    Thanks. :)
  2. jlambeth1
    Offline

    jlambeth1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll suggest you extract it from the BB 1.1 zip. it should be under system/app. I tried to re-install mine this way but it did not install. I was able to get the mms.apk this way though. Are you by chance having trouble getting picture messages? That is what I'm trying to fix but have been unsuccessful so far.
  3. whitefangs22
    Offline

    whitefangs22 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Steele, ND
    i got it back by extracting to sdcard root then just using switch script to put it back
  4. jlambeth1
    Offline

    jlambeth1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried running the script but I get permission denied. Of course, I did type in su first and enabled godmode as well, just in case.
  5. whitefangs22
    Offline

    whitefangs22 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Steele, ND
    I think i might have had to change permissions of file in root explorer too. needs the two left ccolumns under user permissions
  6. whitefangs22
    Offline

    whitefangs22 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Steele, ND
    or that might have been one of my failed manual installs.
  7. madspeed
    Offline

    madspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Take the mms.apk out of the version 1.0 fixes file if you want the upgraded feature like the ability to change LED colors and vibrations etc
  8. jlambeth1
    Offline

    jlambeth1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just want to receive my picture messages lol
  9. jlambeth1
    Offline

    jlambeth1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I gave myself full permissions in root explorer and the script still comes back with permission denied and the .apk fails to install.
  10. madspeed
    Offline

    madspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    try deleting it then pushing to /system/app via adb and install
  11. whitefangs22
    Offline

    whitefangs22 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Steele, ND
    what would happen if a person took all the apps out of the update.zip file except the one that was needed? would that reset the phone with only that one app, fail to work at all, or install just that one app?
  12. jlambeth1
    Offline

    jlambeth1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ADB is the one thing i haven't used yet to try to break my phone lol. Any good place you could point me to for a tutorial on using it on a Windows 7 machine?
  13. madspeed
    Offline

    madspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
  14. jlambeth1
    Offline

    jlambeth1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool, thanks for the link. Looks better than the stuff I had found. I have been waiting for a slow down at work to start messing with adb and next week that should start happening.
  15. madspeed
    Offline

    madspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    simple and effective once you learn it a bit
  16. whitefangs22
    Offline

    whitefangs22 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Steele, ND
  17. BRUTAL BROCK
    Offline

    BRUTAL BROCK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Out of BB 1.0 right? Never seen the options to change led etc etc in 1.0.
  18. BRUTAL BROCK
    Offline

    BRUTAL BROCK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds valid. But you could always re-flash. By the time I wrote this I didn't know NexBeast 1.1 was out. So I had to re-flash anyways. Thanks for the help guys.
  19. madspeed
    Offline

    madspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I used this one...