Swap or compcache or both or none

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by metalspring, Oct 30, 2011.

?

Do you use compcache, swap, both or none of them?

  1. Compcache

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Swap

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Both

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. none

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Hopefully one of the mods can turn this into a poll but I've been curious as to what everyone uses and why. So do you use compcache, swap, both or none of them and why do you use (or not use) them and why.

    Personally I usually use swap because it always seems to lag much less than compcache and it fills up much more slowly allowing me to not worry about clearing it very often

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
  2. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,309
    Likes Received:
    532
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    None. Seemed like my phone eventually slowed down with either, so I gave up using them.

    Tapped from an Unbrickable DROID
  3. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    I've been using a swap partition for about 6 months now. Seems like that was the only way for my phone to run any gingerbread ROM. Have been using winner00s cm7 builds about as long. Would like some script or somethin so I don't have to use swapper2. I remember there was a thread awhile ago I was talking with somebody I think kevdog about it but have No idea where it would be at. But yea I use a 64mb swap partition with swapper2.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  4. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    There is a way without swapper2. Run this in terminal emulator or copy/paste it into any script in /etc/init.d (if you have an init.d folder) or use script manager to make a script with this in it and run it at boot

    swapon /dev/block/mmcblk0p3
    and to turn it off
    swapoff /dev/block/mmcblk0p3

    Btw I pulled that from swapper2 itself lol under advanced settings it says the default directory for the swap partition and I found the swapon and swapoff scripts from running busybox in terminal to show all available commands

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
  5. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Yea I sometimes had to use that when I was having trouble with swapper2. Thanks again for that tho, it's a very useful command. And Yea I do have a /etc/unit.d/ folder, I'm on cm7. Now how do you go about setting swappiness? In the /etc/sysctl.conf file?
    Was it you that listed all those sysctl commands in a different thread? I take it that's the same file those are related to? So I could just set swappiness to like 5 or 10 and I'd be all set? Tons of questions I know. Then I could check if it's working by looking in the memory section of SetCPU.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  6. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Several ways to set swappiness
    1. Add this into the sysctl.config file
    vm.swappiness = 30
    2. Add this at the end of the first script in init.d
    sysctl -w vm.swappiness = 30
    3. Run this in terminal emulator (not sure this way sticks though)
    sysctl -w vm.swappiness=30
    Btw keep all spacing the same

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
  7. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    What about all those other values you were talking mixing and matching in the sysctl thread I can still use those right? Thanks again

    By the way I've been running swappiness at 5 so it takes longer to fill up or whatever. Or is that too low?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Yeah you can use all of those and as for 5 being too low it all depends on your usage. Just run everything for a day or so like you'd normally do without rebooting then type in
    free
    in terminal emulator and if you still have tons of swap space left then you can increase it

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
  9. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,309
    Likes Received:
    532
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Poll added
  10. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Hey metalspring thanks for all your help man. I've been running without swapper2 and just that swapon command, but how does it manage itself? In other words does it know to restart once the majority of free swap memory is used up?

    I've also been running all those sysctl tweaks you posted so the swappiness is set at 30, or does that not even effect swap??
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  11. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not sure what swap is but i tried compache once, never noticed a significant change, it may of possibly even gotten worse. I flash roms alot (or at least when alot of devs were updating their roms) and i never really wanted to go through the added work of something that i had no idea whether it was helping my droid or not.
  12. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Wanna know an easy way to tell? Before enabling swap or compcache open a bunch of apps and see how many close out in the background (like browser will reload page, forums app will exist upon leaving current thread rather than go back to all threads). Then enable compcache or swap, reboot and try it again and see if any more stay alive

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
  13. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    A 64mb swap partition takes a long time to really fill up. However if it does run
    swapoff /dev/block/mmcblk0p3
    swapon /dev/block/mmcblk0p3
    in terminal emulator to reset it

    supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.8 linpack score
    1856 quadrant score
Search tags for this page

android compcache

,
android what is compcache script
,
compcache 18 26
,

compcache 26%

,

compcache android

,
compcache android script
,
compcache or swap
,
compcache or swap?
,

compcache vs swap

,

swap vs compcache

,
swap vs. compcache
,
turn off compcache
,
turn off compcache android