[Support Thread] Boot Manager Androids First Multi-Booter Application

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by gflam, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Team Init 2 Winit Applications which includes me and conap from xda just released our first application and we are happy to annouce Androids first multi-booter application. The app lets you boot up to 5 ROMs on your phone at once and boot between them with just a reboot by installing up to 4 ROMs to your sdcard.

    Full manual can be found here
    http://init2winitapps.com/stories/BMManual.html

    Droid 1 wifi fix found here (actual solution being worked on)
    Wifi Fix for Droid 1

    It supports the droid 1 but that device is a little different from the others because even the d1 had a more secured boot loader than htc devices. The d1 would not allow boot.imgs to be flashed live so that device only does require a quick and automatic flash in recovery to boot between roms all others use just a simple reboot. The d1 is supported only with clockworkmod recovery like sourcery rom was in that for a quick reboot and switch between a rom. If you want to use other recoveries like rzr or sprecovery then you have to flash the slot by hand but keep in mind it's a 2-3mb file that is flashed to switch roms so it takes literally less than a second.

    Again only the d1 requires the boot to recovery thanks to motos secure boot loaders :) but what can you do.

    Follow us on twitter: @init2winitapps
    Visit our homepage: Init 2 Win It Applications
    Or contact us at: support@init2winitapps.com

    Get it in the market for $2.99

    Boot Manager In The Android Market

    [​IMG]

    Lastly made some signatures yesterday and added a gallery to the website if anyone would like to contribute signatures or just download them the link is below

    Init 2 Winit Gallery
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  2. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Wow, I am still on the d1 but this is pretty impressive. So there are no issues with the roms interfering with each other?

    To be or not to be........................wait what was the question? This signature has been Tapatalk approved.
  3. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Nope each rom is completely separate there is no interfering with each other they're in their own folders on your sdcard and all and act completely separate from one another.

    The only issue we ever had with sd roms was that they can lag due to low card read/write speeds we recommend a card with a class over 6 but i have a class 2 card at the moment and was able to solve my lag issues by just overclocking to 800mhz and then didn't notice any lag at all.
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Wow this is excellent stuff gflam.

    Very impressed with your work. Good play on words too. :D
  5. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Thanks enjoy the app
  6. zachdroid
    Offline

    zachdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does each rom have it's own data set or is that all shared? Is data migration between roms going to be an issue for a serial flasher like myself?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  7. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Each rom is completely separate meaning all the data is separate each rom has it's own set of data it's basically like flashing a rom to a freshly wiped phone they're all completely separate
  8. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    O and please do spread the word about the app and supporting devices we would really appreciate emails and pms from other devices would like to support every device with an unlocked boot loader
  9. themadgamer89
    Offline

    themadgamer89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So what's the difference between this app and just making nandroid backups of your roms

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  10. darkmatter
    Offline

    darkmatter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could this work for nook color? I've moved onto the d3, so my nook is my rooting fun these days.

    And I imagine this is different from backups in that you don't have to spend a few mins restoring and reflashing etc?

    Doesn't really surprise me to see something so creative from (some) of the Sourcery team(imo, still the best froyo rom for d1)

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  11. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Um a nandroid takes a while to make and switch between this does it with just a reboot it's basically like saying whats the difference between dual booting you're computer and making backups of your computer
  12. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    As for the nook color does that have like an unlocked boot loader and what i know it has cm support and all so i would imagine it would be fine to work with the app i just don't know much about that device it's weird to me but because it has cm support i'd have to say yea we could add support for it
  13. spc_hicks09
    Offline

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    Some stupid questions lol.

    1. Will this also work if you have a froyo rom and gb rom that you are switching between?

    2. Are you saying that when you flash between roms, the app will auto wipe data, cache and dalvik?

    3. Let's say I have Chevy's Froyo rom and his SS GB rom on there. If I flash from GB to froyo, then back to GB. Will I have to restore apps?

    4. Do you know if any issues have been reported when using this in conjuction with Swapper2?

    Sorry if these are all stupid questions, I just never thought anything like this would be possible so I've got tons of questions going through my head right now lol. Very very nice job though! Congrats to you and Conap for making your first app!
  14. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Some stupid questions lol.

    1. Will this also work if you have a froyo rom and gb rom that you are switching between?

    Yes u can install whatever roms u want to whatever slots gb roms froyo roms whatever makes u happy :) they're all completely separate it's like having 5 different phones basically

    2. Are you saying that when you flash between roms, the app will auto wipe data, cache and dalvik?

    The app creates imgs into the slots when u install a fresh rom to a slot u should check all the check boxes to wipe data cache and system but it doesn't wipe the data cache and system on ur phone just the slots data cache and system the app doesn't touch any of ur data on ur phone just makes it's own in the sdcard

    3. Let's say I have Chevy's Froyo rom and his SS GB rom on there. If I flash from GB to froyo, then back to GB. Will I have to restore apps?

    No each slot is saved all of it's data stays there nothing is ever wiped again just like having five phones basically all of ur slots are completely separate all of ur data is separate and saved nothing is lost

    4. Do you know if any issues have been reported when using this in conjuction with Swapper2?

    Um never used swapper and at the moment honestly not even sure what that is so i'll get back to u tomorrow on this one since i just don't know what it is

    Sorry if these are all stupid questions, I just never thought anything like this would be possible so I've got tons of questions going through my head right now lol. Very very nice job though! Congrats to you and Conap for making your first app!

    No question is stupid it's a new app with a lot of confusing things i know but i'm always happy to answer anything same with conap so ask whatever u want. Thank you as well we have a few more cool apps planned as well team init 2 win it ftw :)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  15. spc_hicks09
    Offline

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    Thanks for answering so fast! Swapper2 is an app that installs a file on the sdcard so that you can use the free space on your sdcard for extra memory. Didn't think there would be an issue with it but was just wondering. Thanks again for getting back to me so quick. Can't wait to see what else Init 2 Win It has in store for us!
  16. themadgamer89
    Offline

    themadgamer89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having a problem and need some help. I installed the app and put ss 5.4 in slot 1 but when I try to boot it up I get stuck on the m logo. Any suggestions

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  17. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Just purchased. Sounds great. Should be testing it out tomorrow.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  18. bplewis24
    Offline

    bplewis24 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA.
    I'd love to try this out. In fact it would have been perfect for a Las Vegas road trip I took last week. Even before I left I knew that one ROM was better for multi-tasking while using Navigation, but I didn't want to completely wipe to use that ROM since the other ROM was better for day-to-day use due to customizations.

    The only thing is I don't want to have to use CWM recovery in order to use this. So if I use RZR, I have to manually flash a file during each multi-boot reboot?

    Brandon
  19. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    It will work fine i talked to conap who uses it and he said there's no problem using it with the sd roms

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  20. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Yea unfortunately the d1 has a more secure boot loader than htc so u'd have to go to the slot and flash the 2mb file manually it's a tiny file to flash though doesn't take long at all but yea only the d1 has to go to recovery all others do it live and with just a reboot

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
boot manager failed to backup boot.img
,
boot manager older version apk
,
boot manager tutorial android
,
booter app
,
extraction of rom
,
how to uninstall boot manager android
,
how to use boot manager,android
,
multi boot manager xda
,
remove boot manager android
,

uninstall boot manager android

,
uninstalled boot manager androis
,

xda boot manager