[Support] Privacy Blocker

Discussion in 'Xeudoxus' started by xeudoxus, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. alanh

    alanh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump for status update req
     
  2. mfn

    mfn New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't install fixed apps. I have a Galaxy S with Gingerbread and Darky's Rom. Why is this happening ???
     
  3. xeudoxus

    xeudoxus Professor X
    Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Plains, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    At this time PB will only "detect" the highest "level" and report on that... So you can have 1000 problems all with "lvl 1" and it will report ok, but as soon as 1 "lvl 4" it will say "bad". I will be removing those "wordings" in the next update and sometime in the future actually detect what the app is doing with the permissions and giving a detailed report.

    80% done on the code redesign and xoom support (I have not been feeling good, it should not have taken this long, + school stuff) (It has been at 80% for about 3 weeks) But as soon as I feel better ill start on it again. (Hopefully within a week)

    Make sure that side-loading is enabled. If it is then shoot me a gtalk
    xeudoxus + gmail.com

    -Matt
     
  4. KLCva

    KLCva New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Permission Discrepancy

    Just curious-

    The app aSpotCat builds a list of installed apps, and details the permissions. There have been a few discrepancies, and I'd like to know if PB is the correct one.

    For example: SongBird (com.songbirdnest.mediaplayer)

    Privacy Blocker
    Lvl 1 = 1, Phone Call (if your phone is on a call)

    aSpotCat Indicates 4, the worst being:
    Phone Calls: Read State and Identity.

    Does PB detect the actual usage of this permission, thereby lowering the threat level?

    Thanks in advance. Great app.
     
  5. xeudoxus

    xeudoxus Professor X
    Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Plains, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are correct, PB will detect the actual usage of permission (PB will scan the app for issues [regardless of permission] and give you a report [also indicating which permission that code is using]) Some "problems" do not even have a "Permission".

    The problem with "other" privacy detection/fixing apps is that it will kill the "entire permission" which "could" FC the app, also you might want the app to use some items in the permission (Not just blocking it all).


    -Matt
     
  6. mfn

    mfn New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure that side-loading is enabled. If it is then shoot me a gtalk
    xeudoxus + gmail.com

    -Matt[/QUOTE]

    I have no idea how to enable side-loading on my Galaxy S.
     
  7. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    Go into Settings -> Applications -> And check "Unknown Sources"
     
  8. mfn

    mfn New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Did that and I still can't install fixed apps...
     
  9. xeudoxus

    xeudoxus Professor X
    Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Plains, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    gtalk me.

    -Matt
     
  10. dwduck

    dwduck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OOM Error!

    Hi. Bought Privacy Blocker today on the advice of my dad. I have an HTC Evo 4G running Android 2.2 with kernel version 2.6.32.17-gee557fd, htc-kernel@and18-2#15. And it worked great for most of the morning. I was running scans and all of a sudden I hit this "OOM Error!" and Privacy Blocker locked up. I can't scroll through it, pull up the menu or anything of the sort. I've tried restarting my phone, clearing the cache, nothing seems to work. It seems to be permanently stuck on the darkened "OOM Error!". Any chance there's a fix for this or a work-around to get it unlocked?


    *** EDIT:

    Had to restart my phone using Sprints hands free activation trouble-shooting technique. I did NOT call Sprint on it, I just reset my phone and now there is no OOM Error!. So, if anyone has an HTC Evo 4G and winds up hitting the small snafu that I hit, that's how you can fix it.
     
    #214 dwduck, Jun 7, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2011
  11. xeudoxus

    xeudoxus Professor X
    Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Plains, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very odd, it kinda seems like a problem I found before. It is caused by apps that use a language not supported in pb. If you can, if it happens again. Send me a talk xeudoxus.gmail com and we will get it fixed.
     
  12. ccossin

    ccossin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Xoom bugs

    I know you're working hard on Xoom support and I very much appreciate it (paid app user).

    I just wanted to let you know about the bugs I noticed on the Xoom in case you didn't know about them.

    I've gotten a FC just about every time I use the back button. After fixing an app and pressing back, After looking at the result of a scan and pressing back, After accessing settings and pressing back, etc.

    I get a FC whenever I press the "home" key and then try to return to the app.

    I haven't done any "fixing" yet as I've only had the app for about a day now. So I cannot report on that aspect of the app yet. I haven't had any problems scanning, however.

    Thank you for your efforts and your attention.
     
Search tags for this page
how to use privacy blocker for rage of bahamut
,
peggle the request was unauthorized
,
peggle unauthorized request
,

privacy blocker

,
privacy blocker apk
,
privacy blocker crashes
,
privacy blocker crashing
,
privacy blocker out of memory
,
privacy blocker out of memory error
,
privacy blocker rage of bahamut