SuperUser problem

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Confusing, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. Confusing

    Confusing New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my Droid with Universal Androot, and it worked perfectly. I downloaded ROM Manager from the Market and started messing around with ROMs, but decided to stick with the stock one later on. I started messing around with kernels and overclocking, and everything went great. I did a recovery earlier today, because I was thinking about installing CyanogenMod. The recovery worked, but when the device booted up I got a notification for the update that enabled Flash 10.1. So I downloaded without thinking, and installed it. That's when it all went downhill. SuperUser Permissions refuses to respond now. ROM Manager doesn't work because you have to have those permissions, if I'm not mistaken, so I assumed I had become unrooted. I used Universal Androot to try and reroot it, but it told me that I was already rooted. So I tried unrooting. It failed. I did a factory reset, thinking that would just take care of everything, and it apparently didn't, as the SuperUser permissions icon is still there and Universal Androot still says I'm rooted.

    Any help would be appreciated. I apologize in advance if this has been discussed already, so please try to take it easy on me for not searching thoroughly. Other than the problem stated above, the phone is working just fine. Also, this is my first Android device and I am loving it! :icon_ banana:
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    If you can boot into recovery power and "X" Then, hopefully you made a backup which you can restore and that will get you operational.

    Mike
     
  3. Confusing

    Confusing New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can boot into recovery, but it's the stock Android system recovery menu. And as far as I know, you can't restore from it
     
  4. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    This is the problem with these "easy/universal root" options, you are probably going to have to flash the SBF file and while you are there you can flash SPR giving you Root Access again
     
  5. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    link 3 in my sig will get you rooted The Right Way!

    Edit: Not a superuser problem...a one button root problem, they are extremely unreliable!
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I do not use RM so my comments may not apply.

    In RM try the fix permissions and see if that may correct the issue. You are using RM with ClockWorkMod recovery, correct? If there a setting that allow you to install from the SD card you can download a new rom copy to your SD and install.

    Another option, use this http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html to install SPRecovery download a rom and install.


    Finally, once you get operational, always make a backup with ClockWork or SPR before you make any changes.

    Mike
     
  7. XxSinisteRxX

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe this is the same problem i had.

    I was having a similar problem except i'm still receiving the OTA Update popup. To fix the Superuser Permissions issue, go to the Market and Search for Superuser. There's a new version 2.3.5 out that you need to download to restore your superuser permissions. Once that is installed, you can then access your superuser abilities again and rom manager. :)
     
  8. XxSinisteRxX

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mike this should fix the problem.

    The RM won't open correctly unless the Superuser Permissions app has been updated to the new 2.3.5 version. After that has been updated the error's will go away and restore permissions. Then he can go to RM and use the Fix Permissions option to cover any other errors. :) Just did it with my phone.

    PS. My apologies Mike, i should've used the multi-quote option. >_<
     
    #8 XxSinisteRxX, Sep 2, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12


    Thanks for the tip and no apology needed :)

    OP, let us know if this rectifies the issue.
    :icon_ peace:


    Mike
     
  10. XxSinisteRxX

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tallica may i use the same sig?

    Tallica i was wondering if you could email me the code for your signature so i can use it as mine as well. You have a few very key links in yours that i would love to provide with my posts to help others out. Or if you can refresh my memory on how to add the links on my own using the html code, that'd be verrrryyyyy much appreciated. :) Thanks Tallica! :icon_ banana:<---Me after your help... lol
     
  11. Confusing

    Confusing New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I was new to rooting at the time, and didn't have any cash for EasyRoot lol.. And I actually tried that earlier today, and ran into a problem at step 10, where you hit start. The start button was greyed out, so I couldn't start. I just abandoned that when that happened

    Tried the Fix Permissions already, and it didn't help.


    And I already tried downloading the latest SuperUser application from the market, but that didn't work either
     
  12. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sure just copy the links you want to use and paste them into your sig.

    No code necessary, Did you mean how to change your sig at all, cause I noticed you have one.
     
Search tags for this page

add rom manager to superuser

,
error installing superuser
,
how to fix superuser
,
super user troubleshoot
,
superuser failed but still rooted
,

superuser problem

,
superuser wont start
,
there was an error installing superuser
,
there was an error installing superuser bionic 4.1.2
,
there was an error installing superuser razr