superuser permissions unresponsive

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by amotamatapia, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. amotamatapia
    Offline

    amotamatapia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I am running BB V0.4. Earlier I was installing a theme through clockwork. The theme.zip was successfully installed, but I then accidentally applied "update.zip" from the menu that was there. I then noticed anything requiring superuser permissions to become unresponsive...such as ROM manager and the superuser permission application itself.

    My question is, when the next version of BB comes out, should I still be able to install the ROM and the superuser permissions be fixed? Or is there a way this needs to be fixed? If it will work itself out then I wont worry. I originally rooted using the first droidmod updater (which I think was 2.0.1?).

    Thanks
  2. orizzle
    Offline

    orizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just reinstall bb
  3. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup, I second that. Backup with titanium and reflash BB.
  4. cczer91
    Offline

    cczer91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south carolina
    i got the same problem. i downloaded bb v0.4 and installed the FRF84B ZIP ROM that needed to be there. Now i cant access superuser permissions. it just force closes. and along with when i try to manage and restore backup in ROM manager. Pleaseee somebody help!!!
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    OP, it appears your issues began due to an incorrect install. Boot into recovery and restore a good backup.

    cczer91, your problem began after a successful install. If I'm reading correctly now you can not use RM to restore. Can you boot into recovery and restore?

    Mike
  6. cczer91
    Offline

    cczer91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south carolina
    yes mike, that is correct.
    i can boot into recovery with the power off, power on with holding the X method. and its in clockworkMod recovery FYI... thanks for the reply
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Once in recovery can you restore a backup?
  8. cczer91
    Offline

    cczer91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south carolina
    there is no option to. just..
    -reboot system now
    -apply sdcard:update.zip
    -wipe data/factory reset
    -wipe cache partition
    -install zip from sdcard
    -nandroid
    -partitions menu
    -advanced

    ???? im totaly frekin
  9. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Understand. Try this, download BB to your computer. Mount your phone and put the update.zip on your SD card. Boot into recovery and use the 5th option (install from SD card)

    Mike
  10. cczer91
    Offline

    cczer91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south carolina
    Is the FRF84B ZIP ROM BB 0.4? if so, i already have it on my computer. How do i put the update.zip on my sd card? and where is it? do i have it?? (bare with me please. im trying my best)
  11. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    You are cool!

    What phone do you have?
  12. cczer91
    Offline

    cczer91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south carolina
    ? i have the First droid.
  13. cczer91
    Offline

    cczer91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south carolina
    nvm. i know how to put it on my sd card.
  14. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    OK but rename to update.zip
  15. cczer91
    Offline

    cczer91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south carolina
    your refering to FRF84B ZIP ROM right? just call it update.zip
Search tags for this page

superuser unresponsive