Superuser and Deleting Apps

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hookbill, Jun 11, 2010.

1. hookbill

hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

Ratings:
    +7
    Simply put, I don't know how to do this. I have Superuser installed and would like to be able to remove some apps off of my phone itself but I'm not figuring it out. So can this only be done with a custom ROM or am I missing something?

I've tried going into applications but the delete button is gray. I don't see anything in Superuser that does anything to provide this.

If someone could take a moment to explain I would appreciate it.

2. Backnblack

Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

Ratings:
    +6
    Can you rename the apk?

3. hookbill

Ratings:
    +7
    OK, give me an example. Let's say I want to remove the stock email (not gmail) app. What are you suggesting? I don't know how I could rename the apk.

4. k1ng617

k1ng617 Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I am wondering too. I am new to rooting (just yesterday, because of the underwhelming specs of the Droid2) and the two things I wanted to do after rooting was overclock a little to improve performance and also get rid of some of the junk apps that came stock ie: AmazonMP3, Corporate Calendar, Google Goggles, Car Home, the news and weather widget, twitter, and visual vm.

Is it stupid to want to get rid of these and will it cause issues for me? My main reasoning is that I want to speed up my phone.

Last edited: Jun 11, 2010
  5. hookbill

Ratings:
    +7
    I have two car home apps on my phone some how. I only need one. I'm just trying to clear up some space too for things I know I'll never use.

I don't know what happened to corporate calendar. That's disappeared on it's own. :shocked:

6. Backnblack

Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

Ratings:
    +6
    Integrated with the Calendar app....

On the renaming the apk, I heard others talk about it.