Summer ROM testing

Discussion in 'GET~R~DONE' started by riguy156, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. bikedude880
    Offline

    bikedude880 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did my own research: Yeah, the chipset supports it, too bad the rest of the board doesn't. BIOS update from Sony anyone? lol
  2. aceoyame
    Offline

    aceoyame Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont think you'll need a bios update. It states it supports up to a 1066 mhz fsb which if I recall was launched with the core 2's. I know the Pentium D extreme edition has it but the 945 series wasn't designed for those.

    edit: YEP! it will! Just not very many but that's what we need is the support! I will grab one now and see what I can do.


    http://ark.intel.com/chipset.aspx?familyID=8764
  3. bikedude880
    Offline

    bikedude880 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not the chipset that's the problem, it's the lack of support for the CPU on the mobo. Trust me, I've had this system for near 7
    6 years and tried.

    It's like my ASUS P5LD2-VM mobo, only rev 2 supports conroe, I have rev 1.

    Sent from my White DROID 2 GLOBAL.
  4. aceoyame
    Offline

    aceoyame Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What cpu did you try? A 45 nm core 2 definately will not work in there. Only a handful of cpu's will work in that board.
  5. aceoyame
    Offline

    aceoyame Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well worst case, I just hand you that 3.4 ghz Pentium D and see if I can perhaps BSEL and VID mod it to an even higher speed. I know you can with the core 2's at least. I would imagine these arent much different since they're the same socket and package.

    Don't forget though I am totally open to letting you compile on my desktop/server.
  6. bikedude880
    Offline

    bikedude880 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it comes to anything, I'll put it in my gaming rig... it's a Pentium D 935 @ 3.42Ghz (stock 3.0) w/2GB PC2-800 RAM

    Sent from my White DROID 2 GLOBAL.
  7. aceoyame
    Offline

    aceoyame Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not much better than your compiling rig lol, anyways. The one I have is a 940 rather than a 935. It wouldn't be much better. But besides that, my server is a E5800 (Wolfdale based) @ 4.24 ghz with 4 gb of ram. It is about as good as 8 3 ghz P4's compiling lol. Anyways if you want fast compiling that is the best way for sure. But I don't mind sending out the parts from here if you need a mild boost. I think with my desktop you could get your compile time down to 45 minutes to an hour, maybe less.

    Definately no more than an hour. I don't use my desktop much, it just sits around. I use it mostly as my media center/playon server. So it is wide open availability for computation time.

    The way I have it imagined is that I can set up an account with special permissions for you, you can remote in using whatever software you want and then remotely run Visual c++ or w/e your favorite compiler is. I can even set up a linux or mac partition if needed.