Summer ROM testing

Discussion in 'GET~R~DONE' started by riguy156, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. bikedude880

    bikedude880 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running a Pentium D 920 @ 2.8Ghz w/1GB PC2-800 ram. Can't OC, mem is maxed.

    But like I said: done.
     
  2. aceoyame

    aceoyame Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure you can't for either? There is pll overclocking and pin modding. Also, I have 2 GB ddr 2 sticks I can send if its a bad slot. Also, I do have that extra cpu laying around. I even can make a secured account for donating cpu time on my desktop I don't use much so really if its computational power were short I will throw what I have at it.

    Send me your specs, I want to work something out since it seems kinda ridiculous were short a man just because of his computer.
     
  3. aceoyame

    aceoyame Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That IS a pretty pokey system so perhaps the donated cpu time is the best solution here. You could remote into my desktop with the secured account and compile as needed.
     
  4. bikedude880

    bikedude880 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is absolutely nothing that can be done for this proprietary pos. It's a Sony Vaio VGC-RB62G. It. Can't. Be. Helped.
    Frankly I want to see this 7-yo pile of crap at the bottom of a river.


    I was doing that. When I was sleeping, when I was working, when I was out of the house. Still doesn't matter, it's wasted time waiting for a brick.
     
  5. aceoyame

    aceoyame Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so you can put 2 GB in that thing. I can provide that, also I can give you that Pentium D 3.4 ghz and I can have it pre pin modded too that way its clocked a little higher than that even. It is LGA 775 so all I need to do is use my conductive pen and paint the pins. I have done that before to a Celeron E3200 to take it from 2.4 to 3.2 ghz @ boot and then oc it to 4.1 ghz.

    Where there is a will theres a way and god damn it I want Cyanogen mod and I will do what I can to help. As I have said before I was a dev on the other phones and want to start here. Also I am a desktop admin where I work so I have plenty of access to hardware.

    I am going to see if this thing can take a Core series cpu. If it can I am going to give you one.

    EDIT: It can use a Core 2 series cpu, I am going to see what we have available here. I know we have those available. A core 2 series with a pin mod and 2 gb of ram will be a huge upgrade to that thing. It isn't quite as useless as you thought lol.
     
  6. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes but its still more than anyone else i know is doing (i dont really know how many other people are working on d2g but still...). I'm trying to mod the d2 one to see if it works but it would be nice to actually be able to not have basically a hacked version working. I don't want the same thing that we had with roms for forever where half of it doesnt work because its mixed in from 3 different platforms

    Also, if theres a way i can donate cpu time at will i can too. I use my laptop pretty often so it wouldnt be all the time but its better than none.
     
  7. bikedude880

    bikedude880 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really don't want charity for this system. It's a pile of crap.

    Upgrading the memory would do little except reduce disk thrash and /maybe/ reduce the time by about 20-30 minutes. Maybe.

    The CPU just needs to be melted down to molten silicon. The Pentium D series is akin to Windows ME.
     
  8. aceoyame

    aceoyame Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh don't call it charity. This is **** we have lying around lol. Where I work we waste tons of money on hardware. Even though it's conroe its still considered out of warranty therefore a pos here. Of course a tech like me knows that with a pin mod and in the right system it is as good as an I3, even some I-5's out there.

    Edit: You are kinda lucky though, the 945p is the only 945 based chipset that will take a core 2.
     
  9. bikedude880

    bikedude880 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did my own research: Yeah, the chipset supports it, too bad the rest of the board doesn't. BIOS update from Sony anyone? lol
     
  10. aceoyame

    aceoyame Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont think you'll need a bios update. It states it supports up to a 1066 mhz fsb which if I recall was launched with the core 2's. I know the Pentium D extreme edition has it but the 945 series wasn't designed for those.

    edit: YEP! it will! Just not very many but that's what we need is the support! I will grab one now and see what I can do.


    http://ark.intel.com/chipset.aspx?familyID=8764
     
  11. bikedude880

    bikedude880 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not the chipset that's the problem, it's the lack of support for the CPU on the mobo. Trust me, I've had this system for near 7
    6 years and tried.

    It's like my ASUS P5LD2-VM mobo, only rev 2 supports conroe, I have rev 1.

    Sent from my White DROID 2 GLOBAL.
     
  12. aceoyame

    aceoyame Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What cpu did you try? A 45 nm core 2 definately will not work in there. Only a handful of cpu's will work in that board.