suggestions?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by newbroot83, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. glsmaxx

    glsmaxx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here are the screen shots u asked for...
    What carrier is your XT908 From?
     
  2. newbroot83

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Mine is from Appalachian wireless
     
  3. calec70

    calec70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nekoosa, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like newbroot83 is the person I have been searching for. lol I have rooted and safe strapped my XT908 in the past but removed it as I was not finding ROM's to use. So I can repeat that process, I'm wondering if you can share more about how you got CM 10.1 on yours? Did you have to edit any script? (Had to do that to my Mileastone X2) Did you just follow Droid RAZR MAXX instructions for CM 10.1? Are using nightlys? Do you have any issues other than what is reported on the CM site? Sorry for all the qustions, you are just the first person I have seen who reports succes. Thanks in advance.

    I have same phone only on Element Mobile in central Wisconsin. Seems many of the regional carriers with this phone get them through ACG and they are very similar.
     
  4. newbroot83

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    I just followed the guidelines set out for the xt912 on vzw. The only thing I noticed was instead of showing xt908 under settings it shows xt912. Everything seemed to work perfectly with cm10.1, but I believe cm10.2 is out now. Battery life with roms seemed to be an issue for me. The roms battery life and the stock battery life never ran the same. If I had 30% remaining on the rom, then stock would show 60%. I didnt have to edit any script and it never interfered with any radios. There were probably 4 or 5 I had working. Black widow ics was my favorite, but I love the blacked out themes. Black widow jb was ok, but had alot of issues about 2 months ago. Let me know if you have anymore questions

    Sent from my note 2 using Droid Forums
     
  5. newbroot83

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    You can message me on talk if you need anything. jsmith830649@gmail.com

    Sent from my note 2 using Droid Forums
     
  6. calec70

    calec70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nekoosa, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks in advance! I have been reading all night on Android Central where there was a very active thread with a couple guys working on the xt908 and cm. They are creating patches to be flashed when flashing the rom and gapps. Sounds like it has to do with apn's. But you just flashed the 912 and all was OK? That's encouraging. I'll keep studying for a few days yet so I'm prepared.
     
  7. newbroot83

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yeh I got tired of being told I couldnt flash someone elses roms with no excuse as to why. The rom doesnt replace radios or apn settings so I couldnt see why it wouldnt work. So I took the plunge and went for it. Definite success

    Sent from my note 2 using Droid Forums
     
  8. calec70

    calec70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nekoosa, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very good news! I had rooted earlier and had safe strap installed but never actually put a rom on. Did you run into any issues going back to stock rom for any reason? One other thing, my carrier is still 3g, 4g not coming until fall. If I'm remembering the right thread when aw went 4g you were able to use your xt908 after an update or patch? I haven't had that yet obviously. Want to be able to get back to stock for that purpose. I know there is always risk of messing things up, just looking for your experiences. Did you get photosphere with any roms you tried?

    Sent from my note 2 using Droid Forums[/QUOTE]
     
  9. newbroot83

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    [/QUOTE]

    I hadnt tried until after aw went 4g. I do believe that with cm10.1 there is a setting under networks to change to cdma only instead of lte/cdma. I never had any issues going back to stock. I accidentally deleted the system off of my stock rom in safestrap amd flash it back from the recovery setting in safestrap with no issues. And I never used photosphere at all. Are you on ics right now?

    Sent from my note 2 using Droid Forums
     
  10. calec70

    calec70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nekoosa, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hadnt tried until after aw went 4g. I do believe that with cm10.1 there is a setting under networks to change to cdma only instead of lte/cdma. I never had any issues going back to stock. I accidentally deleted the system off of my stock rom in safestrap amd flash it back from the recovery setting in safestrap with no issues. And I never used photosphere at all. Are you on ics right now?

    Yes, I'm on ICS right now, it is what came with phone. I really am feeling like we are not going to get the official JB update and haven't heard for sure my xt908 will even become 4G compatible on Element. Since yours was upgraded I'm thinking mine stands a chance. I wonder if all the patches on that other forum were simply to make the settings look right? I could care less if it says my phone is a 912 or whatever. I have a Nexus 10 and like playing around with Photosphere but would really like it on my phone. And other JB advances. If it's not there on ROM I don't care, would just be nice. I feel a lot better about giving this a try now. Thanks for sharing your experience. Maybe I'll give this a shot tonight.

    Sent from my note 2 using Droid Forums[/QUOTE]
     
  11. newbroot83

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    [/QUOTE]

    Mine was ics as well. There is an apk in this forum to put google now on your stock rom. Its pretty nice. I have it. With the roms you will be able to do or have whatever is available for jb. Iay go ahead and try out photosphere. Everything functioned amazingly...even the pie function. I recommend trying the cm10.2 rom. I think youll love it

    Sent from my note 2 using Droid Forums
     
  12. calec70

    calec70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nekoosa, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine was ics as well. There is an apk in this forum to put google now on your stock rom. Its pretty nice. I have it. With the roms you will be able to do or have whatever is available for jb. Iay go ahead and try out photosphere. Everything functioned amazingly...even the pie function. I recommend trying the cm10.2 rom. I think youll love it

    Sent from my note 2 using Droid Forums[/QUOTE]

    Well, didn't get too far last night. I couldn't get the root method from cm to work. First on windows 8 the tried windows 7. Last time I used something called Matts utility but now it appeared to be for jb and I ran out of time trying to find older version for ics. I must have been missing one step or something with the first method. Will try again later. I'll search for that Google Now apk. I tried the camera apk from Google Edition phones. It installed fine and worked but no photo sphere setting on this phone. Other phones ranged from full functionality to not at all.. Didn't see any RAZR sphere success. Was worth a shot. Lol
     
Search tags for this page

esprj easy root one click

,
how can i snapshot on motorola xt908
,
motorola razr xt908 screenshot
,
motorola xt908 oneclick
,
motorola xt908 screenshot?
,
razr maxx appalachian wireless upgrade to 4.2
,

root eprj xt908

,
take photosphere with droid maxx
,
xt908 apn
,
xt908 sound jack not working