suggestions?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by newbroot83, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. newbroot83
    Offline

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Anyone have a suggestion on the best and safest way to create a full backup of my razr maxx. Just in case it ever gers bricked....

    Sent from my Motorola RAZR MAXX
     
  2. sherri
    Offline

    sherri Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    Are you rooted?

    Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +204
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    If not rooted: MyBackupPro, if rooted, Titanium Backup. Which I am sure Sherri was going to say ...
     
  4. newbroot83
    Offline

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    I am rooted, but i am not familiar with titanium. I have used droid bootstrap, and it worked for my dx but not my dx2. Same process?

    Sent from my Motorola RAZR MAXX
     
  5. newbroot83
    Offline

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Do i have to buy the full version to get the full backup? And will it work if my phone gets bricked?

    Sent from my Motorola RAZR MAXX
     
  6. newbroot83
    Offline

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Ok i figured out how to backup, and i did the update.zip folder, but how can i verify the file? I have it on my sd card, but its a relatively small file. I chose edify, system apps, and update.zip. Will this file bring my phone back up if it crashes or is there more i need to do?

    Sent from my Motorola RAZR MAXX
     
  7. sherri
    Offline

    sherri Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    Actually, no....well, sort of...In order to do a FULL backup (apk's/data/SMS/call logs.... everything) you must be rooted. My Backup Pro will backup without being rooted, but not data and settings.

    The free version of TiBu will back up everything, but the added features of the pro version make it worthwhile. The batch restore feature alone is worth it. Otherwise, you are restoring every application and data of that application individually. Also, paid version allows backup to your DropBox account.

    As far as working if your phone gets bricked, well ...you have to be able to power phone on with an operating system. You can" restore" the phone using Matt's Utility, and once it is functional, use TiBu to restore set up, data, apps, etc...



    Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. Idaho_G
    Offline

    Idaho_G New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I find I am having the same questions about my phone. I don't have it rooted but I want to root it. Being a long time windows user, I have a instant distrust of downloading a script file to re-write my phone in hopes of gaining root access, but actually turning it into an expensive brick, unable to do anything more than power up. In windows, I simply had to make an image of my hard drive before I experimented. I haven't found the equivalent for my phone. I am about to just go for it, and have the warranty number and a white lie ready in case it doesn't work, unless someone has a better idea.
     
  9. newbroot83
    Offline

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    The purpose of using titanium backup or bootstrap is in case you soft brick your phone, or put a rom in that you dont quite want. Basically it copies your whole system so you can revert back to it of you manage to screw it up. I have bricked a couple of phones, and used an sbf file to bring one of them back up. In using these programs i should be able to avoid using an sbf file, as long as i have everything backed up to my sd card. If you launch recovery mode, youll see an item that says apply an update from sd card. I am trying to put a full backup on my sd card so that if it breaks, i can get into recovery and pull the old settings back up without having to jump through hoops to get it working again

    Sent from my Motorola RAZR MAXX
     
  10. Idaho_G
    Offline

    Idaho_G New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I am correctly reading what you typed, Titanium Backup will essentially make an image of my phone and store it on my SD card? What if I did a backup and then a FDR, reverting back to Ice Cream Sandwich and ran the restore for Titanium Backup? Would it put my phone back to Jellybean and restore my software and settings to when I did the initial backup? Keep in mind I do not have root access now, but as long as this backup restores Jellybean and my apps then I have no worries.
     
  11. newbroot83
    Offline

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Keep in mind i am pretty fresh at this myself, but that is the way it is supposed to work. Some of the more senior guys would be able to give you alot more info, but essentially thats it. The only part i dont believe is true is the part about about reverting back to ics. Im assuming you upgraded to jb on an ota upgrade. If you factory reset, it is still gonna be on jb because the system was over written unless you did a backup while on ics. If, however, you were on ics and did a backup, then installed a jb rom, and decided you no longer wanted it or it wasnt working properly, then you could use the back up to restore the ics. This would also work if you backed up then did the ota update. As stated earlier on the posts though, titanium only works if rooted. Rooting razrs is really simple though. There is a gui someone made that you basically plug in your phone to your pc and hit enter in the cmd prompt.

    Sent from my Motorola RAZR MAXX
     
  12. newbroot83
    Offline

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Thank you Sherri. I think my one big question is this: lets say my phone is soft bricked. I can get to recovery, and i have everything backed up to my sd card. Using the update.zip file, can i get past the soft brick and make the phone boot up so i can add everything back using titanium. I guess i should really call it boot loop instead of brick, but from my limited experience, its the same thing

    Sent from my Motorola RAZR MAXX
     
  13. Idaho_G
    Offline

    Idaho_G New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Double posted by accident
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  14. Idaho_G
    Offline

    Idaho_G New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did a OTA upgrade to JB and I thought doing a FDR put it back to stock software, which in this case is ICS. Am I incorrect? If so, can I not root my Maxx HD?
     
  15. newbroot83
    Offline

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Idaho
    It looks like there is a method some have used to root it on phandroid. Its a little quirky, but seems simple

    Sent from my Motorola RAZR MAXX