Successfully Bricked

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by stmomma, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. stmomma
    Offline

    stmomma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    I do believe I have successfully bricked my droid. Not by rooting, although I was rooted and overclocked. But I believe, from the way it is behaving that the hard drive area containing the OS was damaged as I, nor my friend or Verizon were ever able to get past the M logo. I did get a boot loader screen a couple times by holding up on d-pad while powering on and it would either say, battery too low to program or battery ok to program. Using RSDlite, my friend and I both attempted to load a ROM and both times we got to 100%, please restart phone manually. Upon restarting we got the M logo and that's it.

    I now have a new droid in my hand and it doesn't have the nicely rounded little keys on the keyboard. :icon_evil:

    If you guys have any more "magic" I can try before I have to send my nice droid with the rounded keys back, please tell me. I really like my keyboard.
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Have you tried cleaning the cache and data while on SPRecovery?
  3. r1nstang
    Offline

    r1nstang New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    I agree run a complete data wipe. the issue is still in the phones memory if you don't wipe everything clean.
  4. stmomma
    Offline

    stmomma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    Can't get there.
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    So holding the X down while powering on it just loops that way too?
  6. stmomma
    Offline

    stmomma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    My phone is still at my friend's house. I gotta go get it and hope he left it charging. I'll be back in an hour or so and we can try to get somewhere. I really don't like this new one. Flat keys and sloppy on the slide. ugh.
  7. stmomma
    Offline

    stmomma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    Yes, M logo is all I get.
  8. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    OK, but so long as you're able to power on your not bricked.
  9. stmomma
    Offline

    stmomma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    Ok, what next ??
  10. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA

    I'd let it charge on the Wall Charger not usb overnight then try flashing the SPRecovery.sbf

    If that works you can boot into recovery and wipe data and cache
  11. stmomma
    Offline

    stmomma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    Phone stuck on moto logo screen.. NEED help Please - xda-developers
    I have tried RSDlite multiple times and it appears to be loading, but I still can't access anything on the phone. After loading an SBF all I get when I go to power up is the M logo. I'm tending to agree with AdamZ in the above link. I've fried a hard drive on a computer and this reminds me of that. Different screen, same results, no access to an OS to load.
  12. stmomma
    Offline

    stmomma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    So I will settle in with my replacement with the flat keyboard, :( and get back to rooted here shortly. :) I think my phone looks rather silly all stock and I definitely notice a difference in performance. 2.2 is way faster.
  13. CoolRalph
    Offline

    CoolRalph New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this happened to me one time i flashed a corrupt clockworkmod recov image. try using rsd lite to flash sprecovery (i have the sbf file at my girlfriends house :\) and then try booting into recovery, wiping everything, and flash a stock rom. this worked for me about two weeks ago, hopefully it works for u, good luck
  14. stmomma
    Offline

    stmomma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    That's what I tried, several times. Never could get past the M logo when trying to boot into recovery. Power+X does nothing and the battery drain is astronomical. Two attempts at most, then must recharge for several hours on a different phone (so I can see when it's charged).

    I have a few more days, so will probably try again before I send it back. I'm just wondering if I could put a note on the phone to have them send it back to me after they fix it ;) I really like the raised keys. I have even considered researching the issue more (I think it's the hard drive) and attempting to replace the parts on my own cuz I really like MY phone.
  15. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Are you positive you've got a good charge on the battery? All this really sounds like a low/bad battery. Two tries does not sound anywhere right for a full battery. Can you get your hands on the charger that will charge the battery while not in the phone? Can you borrow a battery?

    Everything you've said points to low/dead battery.
  16. E_A_P_D
    Offline

    E_A_P_D New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey can you still bring up the SP recovery screen? if so i have a file that might work to bring you back to unrooted 2.0.1
    I can remember if its used with SP recovery or clockwork or both when i get home from work i will try to find out
  17. stmomma
    Offline

    stmomma New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    Yes, I charged the battery on the "new" droid and it seems to be fine. Still reads 100% and it's been unplugged and some light use for 3 hours or so now. I was charging it on a friends phone before I got the "new" one so we could see when it was fully charged and it ran on his phone just fine too. I also "borrowed" my friend's battery and we only got 2 attempts out of his too before it had to be recharged.

    No, I haven't been able to get to the SP recovery screen. I used RSD to try to reinstall SPRecovery and still couldn't get it. The only screens I have been able to access are the bootloader and the M logo. I also tried using RSD to install an A855 file to go back to stock. If I remember right that said there was an error and upon reboot, M logo.
  18. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    This sounds like what happened to me. During the flashing of a sbf, does it fail at loading ram for bootloader or switching the device to BP passthrough? I am pretty sure a section of ram failed in mine, as it would boot up to the M for around 30 secs then restart. SPR would flash though so that section was fine.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  19. BachinPhx
    Offline

    BachinPhx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am totally eff'd. I had rooted using RSDLite and SPRecovery. Rooted Sapphire. Battery sucking. Installed Rom Manager from the Market. Tried doing a backup using ClockModWorks. Updated to newer version of Sapphire. Phone went blank, then to the "M" Logo. Not it won't acknowledge anything on my sdcard and won't allow install of ClockMod. Now I think I have a very expensive pos that I can't get to work.

    Help please!
  20. justadrvr
    Offline

    justadrvr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this might help when i was rooting my droid i got the same thing and i took the sd card out and deleted the bad rom put a good one on and rebooted hope this helps Justadrvr
Similar Threads
  1. benhack
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    887
  2. benhack
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    663
  3. bb-gun
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    915
  4. Stevetx1989
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    1,886
  5. Imprezive
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,086
Loading...