successful tethering for rooted Razr(maxx)?!?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by SCREWd2V, Mar 31, 2012.

  1. SCREWd2V
    Offline

    SCREWd2V New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay i'm not new to the rooting world, but it looks like verizon has done its homework to prevent rooted users from tethering over their 4GLTE network. I have searched forums looking for some sort of successful tethering option for rooted users but find only unanswered threads.

    sooooo i did find this guys little video/write up : How to Get Free 4G LTE Wifi Tether/Mobile Hotspot on Rooted Droid Razr! | DroidRazrRoot.com

    he suggests paying for and downloading SQlite Editor and change some parameters in a file settings which basically prevents your phone from going into "accept $29.00 fee for hotspot" mode.

    so i said wth lets roll with it. after doing a reboot, it failed to cockblock me from using wifi tether, but then all of a sudden my 4GLTE connection (which has always been 4G) slowly started to drop down to 3G and weaken even more. still no successful tether either.... so i turned off the tethering and my phone would NOT return to 4G.
    reboot
    still weak 3G signal.:mad:
    went back into the file which i modded and returned it back to original parameters, reboot. then 4GLTE returned.:icon_eek: WTF?!? Big Brother **** going down right here...

    so what I'm wondering is anyone out there successfully rooted tethering via 4GLTE? :blink:
  2. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
  3. SCREWd2V
    Offline

    SCREWd2V New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow. foxfi works like a charm! i don't know why the other tethering apps for root aren't working... weird. thank you Scottyside for your help!
  4. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    Glad it worked out for you! I've been using it for a few months now with no complications.
  5. jedininjaster
    Offline

    jedininjaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    foxfi does not work for me

    I tried it after barnicle and open tether didn't work. every time i start up a little green wifi icon (the verizon tether one) pops up in the notification bar. after clicking on it it asks me to sign up for tethering.

    same thing happens with foxfi
  6. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    Welcome aboard. What settings are you trying to use? I haven't heard of any issues with either of these hotspot apps. Are you running a ROM? Are you rooted?
  7. jedininjaster
    Offline

    jedininjaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not running a custom rom, but I am rooted. Do I need to flash a custom rom?

    -thanks

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  8. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    No. No need for a custom ROM. What problems are you having? It should be as simple as opening the app and enabling it?
  9. jedininjaster
    Offline

    jedininjaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is what I thought, but every time I start any of the apps, the Verizon tether notification emblem shows in the notification bar. Foxing starts, the computer connects, but it is not able to actually get data. Ive tried it with several different laptops.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  10. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    yup. thats what happens just ignore the verizon part and you should be fine.
  11. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Just Successfully tethered and Am writing to you using the tether. I used "ASHELL" and "SQLITE MANAGER" both can be found for free on the market.

    Go into aShell, check the “Root” box at the top, go to File Explorer, then go to data -> data -> com.motorola.android.providers.settings -> databases -> settings.db, open it with aSQLiteManager, click Settings -> Data, click “PgDn” until you get to 150, click “Edit”, change the value to 0, then press the back button soft key until you are prompted to save the changes back in aShell, save the changes, and reboot your phone. Then enjoy =)

    Big thanks to Kendallhabra on DroidRAZRROOT forum for the instructions.

    Forgot to mention you need to be rooted to use this method.
  12. sava700
    Offline

    sava700 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    New poster here... my new Maxx is coming Wed and I've got a question involving the tethering. I know Verizon and other carriers are able to see if you do this but does the app as listed here foxfi or any others prevent them from knowing you tether - which pretty much means laying the phone down with the connection and letting me allow my laptop to connect online with it?
  13. Cattledog1969
    Offline

    Cattledog1969 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    A Wealthy Cape Cod College Town
    IMO, VZW or any other wireless carrier should mind their own business about how you choose to use the data plan your already paying for. Paying for tethering is like paying the phone bill twice. As long as you stay under your monthly data GB plan, why should the wireless company care how its used.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  14. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,491
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    To my knowledge they can't see it. And really from the conversation I just had with cs, if you DON'T USE THEIR SOFTWARE TO DO IT! Then they can't charge you for it.

    That DOESN'T make this 100% true. But I use foxfi all the time, and haven't gotten even a mention of it from big red.
    And foxfi rocks, I even have my son using foxfi rocks tether his ps3.... and his vita PSP.

    Hope this helps?

    sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX
  15. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,491
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    IMHO, I agree, infact it shouldn't matter if you go over your data plan. After all, YOU pay for it. They don't say, well you pay for 2GB and you used 3.5 and we think your tethering, so please stop. They charge you another 20$ and don't care how or why you went over.

    Trust me!! I have 4 unlimited DROID devices with Verizon. A maxx, a bionic an x2 and an x.... my monthly bill is 400$+ per month... not once have they cut me any slack except they did just give me a free upgrade... idk why but they did. So i have to give credit where credit is due on that.

    sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX
  16. sava700
    Offline

    sava700 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok thanks for the replies guys.. I'll download that and get it a go then.
  17. akiles
    Offline

    akiles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    I used FoxFi and tethered my windows slate and scored 14mbps under lte.
    I was able to tether using bluetooth as well -using the same app but can't remember the score.

    I'm on the leak now and I can't tether crap! I can't get it to work -I think it may have to do with root. For some reason, apps that require root, take a long time to start or do not work at all. Meh...
  18. mricchio
    Offline

    mricchio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Help. I changed everything like u said and now my phone wont stop rebooting....
  19. webster8004
    Offline

    webster8004 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Wifi Tether app for my needs, don't worry about when the verizon notification pops up, like someone said earlier just wait for it to go away and everything should work normally
  20. mricchio
    Offline

    mricchio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid Razr Maxxx Android 2.3.6 System Ver. 6.12.181.XT912

    Can Anyone Confirm That these are the correct values????
    Thanks

    Line 18-----Throttle-polling-Sec---------Value 1
    Line 19-----Throttle-threshold-bytes----Value 0
    Line 20-----Throttle-value-kbitsps-------Value 9999999999999999999999999
Search tags for this page

com.motorola.android.providers.settings

,
droid razr maxx tether app
,

droid razr maxx tethering

,
droid razr maxx wifi tether
,
free tethering razr maxx root
,
razr maxx root is it free wifi access
,

razr maxx wifi tether

,
tethering motorola razr maxx
,
wifi tether pending
,
wifi tether settings for droid razr maxx
,
wifi tethering droid razr maxx
,

wireless tether razr maxx