Subject line filtering

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by fpfiglia, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. fpfiglia
    Offline

    fpfiglia New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My private email server does an excellent job of tagging SPAM by adding the word ***SPAM*** to the subject line of the targeted message.


    I am using K-9 mail to manage my Droid email.

    Question: Is there a way to get K-9 to filter out (and either delete or refuse to download from server) any message with ***SPAM*** in the subject line?

    Thanks gang
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I use K9 also. I've not been able to find anything that would do what your asking. Hopefully someone with more expertise than me will be able to explain "how to" to both of us.

    Mike
  3. addovox
    Offline

    addovox New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same issue. My ISP is nice enough to tag all spam with [SPAM] at the beggining of the subject--this makes filtering a breeze while still allowing any/all false positives.

    Is there ANYTHING for the Droid that can filter mail?? If not, the Droid mail is sort of useless (assuming most are like me and 90% of their mail is spam).
  4. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    I don't have the answer you really want, but you could do what a lot of people do: either forward your email to gmail or have gmail check your other account. I know, it might seem like a kludge but a lot of people do this and it works well for them. gmail even lets you set up different profiles, like k9, so you should be able to change your persona/identity on k9 and have gmail send it for you.

    Once set up through gmail, you can write a filter or perhaps gmail will filter them automatically.

    But if it's your private server, you should probably try to set it up to move the spam to a different folder.
  5. addovox
    Offline

    addovox New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, i want to avoid running my corporate e-mail thru my gmail account(s). Also, i have 3 gmail accounts set up, so it might get even more confusing.

    On my corporate Outlook, i do have all mail with [SPAM] in the subject routed to a SPAM folder. Is there a way for either the Droid mail client or K-9 client to NOT download a folder?? I don't see any settings for that in either.

    Thanks for the response.
  6. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
  7. addovox
    Offline

    addovox New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm...i don't really get how to use the K-9 folders. I have SPAM folder on my work computer, but K-9 isn't showing it, and i see nowhere i can Add a folder. It is, however, downloading all the SPAM that IS in the folder. These directions would be helpful if i could see/add the SPAM folder in the first place, but i just don't see that option anywhere in K-9, and these instuctions don't elaborate. Harumph. :|
  8. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    POP3, IMAP, Exchange?
  9. addovox
    Offline

    addovox New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    POP3. I simply don't see anywhere to actually "set up" my folders in the K-9 settings. All it shows is 'Inbox', which includes every mail, unfiltered.
  10. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Oh, darn, I don't know how to set that up. I don't think pop really allows folders (though I could be wrong). I think your other client is just smart enough to put spam in a different folder. You might want to try my suggestion, above, about sending it through gmail. You'll probably be happy that you did.

    One last thing I just remembered. You might want to try maildroid
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  11. addovox
    Offline

    addovox New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Or perhaps try IMAP? I've never really used it, but i've heard good things (auto-synch, folders, etc).
Search tags for this page
android email client filter by subject
,
android email client filteribg subject
,
android email rules for filtering
,
android k9-mail filters
,
is there a way to be able to click on the phone number for a
,
k-9 spam
,
k9 email filter galaxy s4
,
k9 mail android filtering
,

k9 mail filters