stuck @ setup accounts...NEED HELP

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by ultima, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. ultima
    Offline

    ultima New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    long story short, my bro did somethin w/ my phone &amp; it stopped working...only worked shortly after battery pulls<br><br>so i factory reset and it works but im stuck at setup accounts and it keeps looping when i set up gps and goes back to backup assistant. Any way to get by this? the error says My Accounts (process com.motorola.setup) has stopped&nbsp;<br><br>also, i know the phone is working cuz i can get online(by using voice serch), pull notif bar down and go into wifi, gmail, &nbsp;texts, etc, &nbsp;
  2. ultima
    Offline

    ultima New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anybody have any ideas/advice???
  3. gambit07
    Offline

    gambit07 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, you can fix it by downloading launcherpro or a similar launcher apk and installing it. Then you'll have to figure out what apps need to be readded.
  4. tat2dwitetrash
    Offline

    tat2dwitetrash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly burbs
    Same happened to me last night I did factory reset twice through the stock recovery

    Then i skipped the tap andy by tapping four corners and the phone started fine then I skipped the backup assistant which is where I was stuck previous to the factory reset.

    Then I opened the market to get it to prompt me for my google login

    Also I'm going to guess your contacts will be broken when attempting to call someone from it my reccomendation would be get a third party contacts app I.e. Go contacts

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  5. tat2dwitetrash
    Offline

    tat2dwitetrash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly burbs
    Gtalk me if you need help I'm rmelnick79atgmail.com

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  6. mrailing
    Offline

    mrailing New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like your phone was rooted, and you or your brother removed some apps (bloatware). Specifically the "Guided Tours" which comes right after the GPS selection after doing a wipe. You will have to restore "Guided Tours" files. I did something similar, and here is what I did.

    Hopefully you can get in to the Market place to download a launcher and root explorer...

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...tware-backup-assistance-dont-wipe-device.html
  7. argenzjc
    Offline

    argenzjc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What if you can't even get past the first setup screen because its for closing. I press the little android and thats it, i'm screwed


    I have no clue what to do now.

    Yay for being an idiot and not backing up
  8. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You can't "back up" before you root.

    You just need to get the file back on to the phone.

    Yet another reason I don't let anyone touch my phone!
  9. argenzjc
    Offline

    argenzjc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK - Here is my story, and before I take this phone back to Verizon to try and get a new one, I hope someone can help me out of my bind.

    Rooted my Droid 3. YAY! :)
    Deleted bloatware I didn't want.
    Contacts starting force closing.

    Factory reset. Dumb Idea.

    Got a forceclose midway through set up so I had to download ADW and load the system through that. GREAT! working again.

    Contacts still force closed, but since I figured I loaded the APKs back on, changed the permissions and owners, I could factory reset and all would be well.

    WRONG.

    Force close right at the opening android setup window.

    FML gonna need a new phone unless someone has a better idea. The only thing I have access to is wi-fi, which I can get to the browser with. I can't download any apps or anything.
  10. Aiesline
    Offline

    Aiesline New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go here [ROOT/UNROOT] Droid 3 root instructions (One Click added for Windows/ Linux/ OSX) Download the root/unroot tools

    Make sure you have the currant drivers for your phone installed

    Run the .exe file

    Choose the "Restore my /system/app"

    You may need to then unroot and reroot.

    Next.. Don't muck around uninstalling things until you are absolutely sure of the consequences. Buy titanium backup pro and freeze them instead. This in theory should fix it unless you have well and truly deleted something major.

    Good luck.
  11. argenzjc
    Offline

    argenzjc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    didn't work - definitely need a new phone
  12. Aiesline
    Offline

    Aiesline New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a unbrick your phone file out there you have to push like a sbf. That is your last resort before getting a new phone...


    good luck.
Search tags for this page
.com.motorola.setup stopped
,
accounts process com.motorola.setup has stopped responding a
,
androif stuck in email account setup
,
application my accounts (in process com.motorola.setup) is n
,
com.motorola.setup stopped
,
droid 3 stuck on setup accounts
,
droid x2 stuck on setup
,
my accounts (process com.motorola.setup) has stopped
,
processcom.motorola.setup
,
stuck in droid x settings
,

the application my accounts process com.motorola.setup

,
voice serch