1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Stuck on "M" logo

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Global Roms' started by justplainlost38, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Think I did a bad thing. Not sure what happened but I wanted to revert back to a backup I made earlier today. I went into CW, wiped cache, clicked recover, clicked on file from earlier today. Said recovery complete. Rebooted phone, and now it is stuck on the "M" logo. Tried pulling battery 3 times and got same thing. I am in extended network, so I dont know if SBF'ing will work or not. Need major help please
  2. Masamichi7
    Offline

    Masamichi7 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, I wonder if you needed to mount system in recovery first. I would try to first go into stock android recovery by pulling the battery out, putting it back in, and holding the x down on the keyboard while powering back on until the TRIANGLE appears, then hit the search key, and use the volume buttons to scroll down to wipe data and hit the camera key to select 'wipe data'. If it still sticks in bootloop, try SBF, and when the phone prompts for programming activation later, make sure you're in a better reception area.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  3. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    I tried the rebooting and holding the "x" button for almost 5 minutes and the triangle never appeared. I figure the only thing i can do is SBF. Where I live is about 15 min outside of verizon network. Once sbf is finished, I will just take it into network area and re-activate it. BTW, I pulled my card out and looked at the files and somehow angelrom got deleted off. Guessing that is the root of my whole problem. Must have accidently deleted it when I was moving and deleting pictures and other files.
  4. Masamichi7
    Offline

    Masamichi7 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ouch, that is bad luck :( sorry to hear that. Just make sure you held down the x and the power button at the same time, and that you held them before the phone powered on. If not, then I guess SBF is the only way to go at this point >_> sorry sir.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  5. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Apparently my battery was lower than I thought cause the sbf failed. Phone says code corrupt, battery low, cannot program. Have unit plugged into charger hoping that it will charge so I can get it back working.
  6. Masamichi7
    Offline

    Masamichi7 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahhhh. Sounds like a bad night :( yeah its good to have it at atleast 80 percent.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  7. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Will the unit still charge the battery in this state? Bootloader screen still shows code corrupt, battery low, cannot program
  8. Masamichi7
    Offline

    Masamichi7 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Honestly, im not sure..if the white charge light on the side is still lit, you're in luck. Sorry I can't be of more help.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  9. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Wife's phone was fully charged, so I swapped batteries. Trying the sbf again. Once it completes and I re-activate it doing the *228 option 2 (pretty sure its option 2), I should be able to re-root it with z4root and get back to where I was before, correct?
  10. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    How long does SBF'ing roughly take? Just curious.
  11. rusty815
    Offline

    rusty815 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    a few minutes, 10 at the most, by the way, when you hold x to get into the recovery, you dont wait for the menu to appear, you push the little magnifying glass button on the keyboard to bring the menu up so you could data wipe.
  12. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    It is on the rebooting stage now. Waiting on that to finish so I can complete the steps. Wife complains that I mess with the phones too much, but it you dont play around with them, what fun is that???
  13. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    SBF stayed on 100% and said to manually reboot phone. Initially rebooted phone and it came up to the android starting screen for activation. These were the steps I took next.
    Step 5: Wait for it to get to 100% and reboot your phone to the motorola "M" symbol first then unplug your device. While at the M take off the battery cover out and remove your battery. Wait for about 3 seconds and then reinstall your battery. Power on and hold the physical X key until you get to the triangle and !.

    Step 6: on your physical keyboard push the search button to get into the recovery mode. From there you are going to wipe data/factory reset. AFter that is complete click reboot.

    Finished the wipe data/factory reset and now it is rebooting. So all I should have to do is get into network area and re-activate it using the *228 option corect?
  14. rusty815
    Offline

    rusty815 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup, once it boots that should be all.
  15. 60lpsdf250
    Offline

    60lpsdf250 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Women, sheesh...

    D2G
  16. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Well, got phone re-activated this morning. Now time to go thru the process of re-doing everything to get it back to the way I had it....Fun Fun Fun
  17. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Got everything all redone. Reloaded all my apps thru tb, reinstalled my widgets. I do have another problem now, everytime I try to open my gmail acct, it force closes. What could be causing that?
  18. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Got it figured out. Cleared gmail data and re-synced. Working fine now.
  19. justplainlost38
    Offline

    justplainlost38 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia