1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Stuck in boot loop

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by Lusslax33, May 15, 2011.

  1. Lusslax33
    Offline

    Lusslax33 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Heres the story:
    I previously had the stock gingerbread running on my droid 2, i then decided to flash a rom (zombiestomp 1.2 to be exact). I have flashed roms before and never had a problem but this time i must have messed up on a step. Because now when i do a battery pull it goes into an infinite boot loop. I have tried turning it on and holding x and getting to the system recovery thing but nothing works, i wipe cache partition, wipe data/factory reset, tried applying things from my sd card and the reboot system does not do anything, it always goes back to the boot loop.

    Need some help!!!
  2. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    You will need to flash an sbf, more than likely that rom was not made for your system version or it was not a good link.
  3. Lusslax33
    Offline

    Lusslax33 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am flashing a sbf right now but it keeps getting stuck on the installing update screen.

    EDIT: but to make sure im doing it right, what would be the correct steps to flashing it
    Last edited: May 15, 2011
  4. phorgotten
    Offline

    phorgotten Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you have the "ROOTED" GB Leak installed?

    The Bootloop have you let it run for a couple minutes? Sometimes it takes a while...

    Follow this link:
    Droid 2 Gingerbread (2.3.3) - Release - PreRooted

    This will give you everything you need to SBF and to install the rooted gb leak.

    Also not sure why you installed ZombieStomped 1.2 as the latest is 1.65, and 1.7 should be landing tonight....

    If you have any trouble let me know and i will be glad to help!
  5. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    nevermind go with his guide. I was looking for it
    Last edited: May 15, 2011
  6. Lusslax33
    Offline

    Lusslax33 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well how it started was i had Liberty 1.5 installed for a while and the netflix app finally came out for android and i was told it was supported through gingerbread based roms, so at first i tried to put in some new rom (dont remember the name) and i had this whole boot loop thing going on and i fixed it and my phone went back to the factory settings, and it was gingerbread. I didnt like all the bloatware so i put the zombiestomp 1.2 rom on and it worked fine. Then i tried to upgrade to zombiestomp 1.65 and thats when this whole mess happened
  7. Lusslax33
    Offline

    Lusslax33 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok i have all 4 of the files i was suppose to download, now just put the monster 2.3.2 zip file on my sd card?, it says to put it into bootstrap recovery but i can only get to those beginning screens, before the boot.
  8. phorgotten
    Offline

    phorgotten Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    to get into bootstrap recovery hold down volume up + volume down + camera
  9. Lusslax33
    Offline

    Lusslax33 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That just got me to the bootloader screen and it looks like i cant do anything there
  10. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    You can't access clockwork recovery without the DROID 2 bootstrap app.
  11. Lusslax33
    Offline

    Lusslax33 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have the bootstrap app
  12. phorgotten
    Offline

    phorgotten Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you can get into clockwork then:

    1. wide data/factory reset
    2. wipe catche
    3. go to advanced and wipe dalvik cache
    4. install monster from sd card
    5. reboot phone
    6. let it load for about 5 minutes....just walk away
    7. if it boots your good
    8. if not then battery pull and try to boot up normal (will prob go to clockwork, just hit reboot)
    9. if all else fails SBF to froyo and start over
  13. Lusslax33
    Offline

    Lusslax33 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i was watching this video, , and i was going to put that sbf file in the RSD Lite and follow the instructions he gave, but im not sure what i should do with the drivers.
  14. phorgotten
    Offline

    phorgotten Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    You install the drivers to windows or linux, just lets the computer pickup the phone correctly.
  15. phorgotten
    Offline

    phorgotten Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also that video is for rooting 2.1, the monster file i linked you too is prerooted, no need to root it, just install it.
  16. Lusslax33
    Offline

    Lusslax33 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, im installing the drivers now, then im gonna try doing this, ill let you know if it works
  17. Lusslax33
    Offline

    Lusslax33 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When i start the whole thing the video shows that something should say update in progress and nothing changed on my phone, any suggestions?
  18. Lusslax33
    Offline

    Lusslax33 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just got it working again in froyo. now i just need to upgrade to gingerbread and itll be back to normal. thanks for the help.
  19. wiggin105
    Offline

    wiggin105 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having a similar problem (i think). After I install Gingerbread, I try Droid 2 Bootstrap and Reboot Recovery. Instead of actually Rebooting Recovery, I just have an endless bootloop. Any suggestions?
  20. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First pull the battery and boot up again...that cures a certain percentage of boot loops that can occur shortly after a ROM change.
Search tags for this page

droid charge stuck in boot loop

,
droid x stuck in bootloop
,
lg ally stuck in reboot loop