1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Stuck in Boot Loop! Please Help me fix it please.

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Help' started by Mojo, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Issue:
    Woke up to phone dead (as in the battery), I plugged into wall outlet and phone started into boot loop. Only get to the "M" and reboots.

    ROM:
    Ultimate Droid 9.8, with the UD Stock Kernel.

    ROM Modifications:
    Changed the boot animation yesterday to "Android peeing on Apple" from this thread http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/36447-new-droid-peeing-apple-boot-animation.html
    Used terminal to install using these commands.
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    dd if=/sdcard/bootanimation.zip of=/system/media/bootanimation.zip
    Reboot

    Things I have tried to resolve:
    I first tried to do a battery pull then reboot. This only resulted in same bootloop.

    I tried to boot into SPRecovery and flash Nandroid backup of UD 9.8. Resulted in bootloop.

    I tried to restore backup with wipe data/ factory reset and wipe cache. Still resulted in bootloop.

    I tried not only my Nandroid backup but the origanal Nandroid I used to go to UD 9.8

    I have tried to flash to a Nadroid of DroidMod. Resulted in bootloop. (I have restored my Nandroid of UD 9.8, but it is still in bootloops)

    Things I am in Process of doing:
    I am currently going to download the SDK so I may use ADB. As I know I will have to use it I am sure. So I have a few questions before I down load.

    Question 1:
    I am going to download from the links in this thread http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/30464-how-adb-why-i-love-adb-commands-3-a.html is this what I need?

    Question 2: In the Moto USB and Charging link there is to pc charging driver links, what one do I use? (BTW I have XP for a opporating system)

    Question 3:
    On the Android SDK what all do I need to download from that page? There is things for eclipse and so on... do I need that?

    Last but not least once I down load and have everything installed what do I do from there? I hope I outlined my issue in a clear discription. And I hope some one can and will help me get this going. And please only respond if you know what you are doing. I need this thread on topic, direct, and to the point. Thank you in advance for help.
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2010
  2. jbg25
    Offline

    jbg25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you try this?

  3. jbg25
    Offline

    jbg25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    forget eclipse and all that other crap.

    the moto driver depends on your version of windows...32 vs 64...you have to figure that out. If you install the wrong one it will tell you and you can just download the other.

    as for what to do once you have shell up and running...

    just follow the instructions from my post above
  4. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    No I did not. I did not know that was directed for me to follow. I was thrown off with the "NexTheme" instructions since I have never used that theme nor want to use that theme.
  5. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Okay cool. Thank you. I will give this a shot. I will post back when I have it up and going. BTW I belive I have win 32 bit. It does not say 64bit on my laptop anywhere
  6. jbg25
    Offline

    jbg25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I only recommended that as with an update.zip...I feel I often get cleaner installs. IF you want the stock..you can apply theme after we get you going.
  7. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    The phone was unplugged, drained overnight and had no charge this morning. You plugged it in, and made your first post about 15 minutes ago. How long has it been on charge for?

    edit: and did everything work fine yesterday?
  8. jbg25
    Offline

    jbg25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Wow...I just assumed he had let it charge for a bit before panicking...but...I should have asked this first....good call...hopefully it is this simple
  9. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Yes everything did work fine yesterday. I woke up around 6am noticed my phone was not on the charger, picked it up went to turn it on and it would not turn on. I plugged it in to a wall outlet, it turned on to the Moto logo and immeaditly started into a boot loop. I have left it plugged in since that time. I have accessed the forums first via my wifes bb Storm.. I am currently able to access via a laptop now as I tethered her phone.
  10. jbg25
    Offline

    jbg25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    So I assume the phone has been charging all this time and you still get M boot loop?
  11. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Yes that is correct
  12. jbg25
    Offline

    jbg25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then I would say it is safe to say it is not the battery...I think you should proceed with the process I laid out earlier.
  13. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    hmmmm.... Now I am even more confused. LOL. Since you made a point about the battery, I decided to try a different charger altogether. Because it has been on the charger all this time and it did not appear to be taking a charge. I plugged it in to another outlet with a different charger and it booted finally! But now I am stuck on the android "touch to begin" screen. I am going to leave it for a while to get enough charge on it to be able to try to reboot with out it being on a charger.
  14. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I'm still trying to figure out the little led next to the usb port on the phone. I plug in and it lights up. When you get a chance see if it does that with both chargers. Phone screen facing the ceiling, cord in the phone, little white light just to the left of the outlet. Mine is not doing it now but the batterylife widget I am using says I'm already at 100% charge.

    It sounds like you managed to wipe the phone but should be able to do a nandroid restore once it charges some more. Keep us informed, good luck.
  15. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Okay.. so now I have the phone booted and it is charging. Still needs another 20 min of charge I am sure before I should take it off of the charger. But what is doing now... 1) it is constantly force closing "voice search" and it is not showing any type of signal at the top. it just has a "x" where the 3g signal is. So from this point what is the steps to get it stable?
  16. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Before I switched chargers I did not notice the little light on in the charging port. When I switched chargers it did come on. Now it is on using either charger. The difference in the chargers is one is a Motorola wall charger. The other one is the one that came with the phone plug with usb cable. That is the one that worked to get it out of boot loop
  17. jbg25
    Offline

    jbg25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Christim is right...

    with all the restores you did you may have wiped your data.

    This will be very easy to fix...

    Let it charge for 20 mins on this new charger...then boot into recovery

    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition

    repeat...

    restore nandroid from last night...system, boot and data only.

    you should be good to go
  18. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Okay success! I was able to restore a Nandroid back up... I have my signal and everything seems to be working. :icon_ banana: Thank you all for all of your help! I was really starting to freak! I knew as long as I could get into recovery I should be able to bring it back to life. But boy thats a scary feeling to think that I may have been S.O.L. Again thank you I will let you guys know if I see anything weird through out the day. I really think that the culprit causing the issue was the boot animation that I installed. So I would recommend that it be investigated.
  19. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Cheers!

    At this rate we'll never get that brick wall built we wanted :)
Search tags for this page

andtoid stuck on piss on appke screen

,

boot loop devour a555 need help entering noot loop

,

boot loop motorola xt615

,

bootloop blackberry 9530 code format

,

fix bootloop android without adb usb

,

how to fix a motorola cliq stuck in boot loop

,

how to fix motorola cliq blur stuck on startup

,

how to fix motorola cliq boot loop

,

how to use android sdk to fix bootloop

,

moto droid dead boot loop

,

motorla cliq boot loop

,

motorola cliq stuck in boot loop

,

motorola mb200 boot loop fix

,

razr v3 stuck charging battery

,

xt615 boot loop