Strange reboot issue

Discussion in 'LithiumMod' started by vkashat, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. vkashat

    vkashat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed this ever since I started using the Froyo custom roms (any of them, and I've gone back and forth between BB and JRummy):

    Whenever I stream music (pandora, slacker, cherry rplayer, etc) and browse the web at the same time (with any browser, stock, dolphin, xscope) it's almost certain my phone will at some point freeze and reboot.

    Is anybody else having this problem? Any ideas as to what could be causing it? How to fix?

    I'm hoping to avoid wiping data/cache, especially if it's not guaranteed that will solve the problem. But if I have to I have to.
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm running Froyo without a custom rom and have no issues. Are you running a task killer? If so, I'd get rid of that.
     
  3. vkashat

    vkashat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was using Auto Memory Manager, I uninstalled and so far so good.

    Thanks for the tip it seems to have done the job.

    I may have to go back to a traditional task manager (ATK, or something similar).
     
  4. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Windy City
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is odd is I use Auto Mem manager myself and stream Pandora all the time and have even Wifi tether at the same time and have no trouble.

    what kernel you running on the deivce? It could be the voltage version you are using. By using Pandora and then web browsing the processor may not be getting enough voltage on the speed changes depending on how you have your device setup ( ie If you use setCPU with profiles). First thing I'd try depending on what kernel it is would be to step up one step in voltage. so if you are running an ultra low voltage go to low voltage. If say you are on p3 low voltage try his standard voltage.
     
  5. vkashat

    vkashat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I usually run ChevyNo1's ultra low voltage 1.25ghz

    And 90% of the time I have setcpu to 1250max 550min performance scaling, and I'll still see the problem with that setting.

    Again, I stream music no problem, but when I would stream and browse the web at the same time, midway through a page loading the phone would freeze & reboot.

    I'll experiment some more and post again later with my findings.
     
  6. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Windy City
    Ratings:
    +0
    that being said I'd try 2 things. One try going to his LV 1.25 kernel. Second I wouldn't put it on performance specially if you use the temp profile in setCPU depending on what temp you have it set to. Reason I say that is with performance is it being clocked at 1.25 almost all the time. With that being said say the temp gets to high and then it clocks down to cool to whatever setting you have set, well the voltage change with the tasks at hand and slower clock speed could be causing the freeze up.

    If you don;t want to test another kernel first I'd lower the high end of your setting to 1Ghz or a notch lower and just test it. If that works out and doesn't freeze and you really want it at 1.25 install a higher voltage kernel and test it at 1.25 again. Personally tho at this time of year with ambient temps and running at 1.25Ghz and multi tasking it could just be a heat issue. Winter time I'll run mine at 1.1 or higher, but this time of year I try to stay 90Mhz of lower. And now with Froyo out you will barely notice a difference in normal daily use at the lower clock speed, IMO at least.
     
  7. badazz74

    badazz74 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a similar problem but only with doubletwist media play, when i play a video and try to move the progress bar it freezes and then reboots. Not sure if its related. I am running latest jrummy 2.2 with ChevyNo1's ultra low voltage 1.2ghz. I do have advance task killer installed, will uninstall and see if that helps.

    Nope uninstalled adv task killer and it still froze and rebooted.
     
    #7 badazz74, Jul 8, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2010
  8. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Windy City
    Ratings:
    +0
    IMO ultra low voltage kernels are more times then not the issue. Most device do not like ultra low voltage. I'd seriously go up a step using the same kernel and try it. Kinda why chevyno1 went back to low voltage as the standard kernel in his ROM. On his one release that he used ultra low it caused nothing but headaches for a lot of people.
     
  9. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i, too, am having a freeze issue; but it happens with a lot of things. i never really had an issue before going to kangerade.

    i am using chevy's ULV 1.1 kernel, so i'm gonna try switching to LV to see if that helps. i also use ATK, but i've never had any issues with it before.


    i've had it lock up in the market, while browsing the net, and just recently while in Root Explorer. also, my phone seems to be running pretty laggy lately. not sure what the issue is, tho i'm thinking it may be LauncherPro?
     
  10. vmann32

    vmann32 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane,Wa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I notice a similar issue using any kernel above 1.2 But I use P3Droid 1.2 and this morning my gentle alarm went off and I dismissed it and it froze and reboot.Also noticed this morning after that nes them gmail said no connection 3g.I switch over to droid x and so far so good.
     
  11. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well, i switched to a 1ghz LV kernel, and no issues so far....


    knock on wood.
     
  12. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Windy City
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet, glad to hear it. Keep us posted I'm kinda curiosu if that minor change did the trick or not.