Storing Data Online

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by ugadawgs23, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. ugadawgs23

    ugadawgs23 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been looking for an app that lets me store contacts online so when I wipe my data for a new ROM, I can quickly sign in and restore everything. However, I have been using Lookout, and when I transfer my contacts to the website, it creates around 5 copies of every contact. Anyone know of a way to fix this, or an app that dosn't do this? Thanks.
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Have you considered using Google mail. It stores your contacts and after you wipe and log back in it automatically restores your contacts. You Droid and Gmail work very very well together.

    Mike
     
  3. ugadawgs23

    ugadawgs23 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I used that to update my contacts this go around. For some reason, I only have twenty of them, though. I have around 70 contacts in all, but 370 listed because it makes copies of them for some reason. I'm sick of going in and deleting four of every contact if that makes sense. For instance..it will list like:

    Mom
    Mom
    Mom
    Mom
    Mom
    Mark
    Mark
    Mark
    Mark
    Mark
    etc... I don't want to have all those extra copies of them.
     
  4. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gmail does that?
     
  5. ugadawgs23

    ugadawgs23 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure it's not supposed to but for some reason mine is like that.
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Are you using multiple accounts? If so you may want to move everything to Google or sync. I believe the syncing requires you to manually make each contact.

    Hookbill has lots of posts on this so do a search on his posts.

    Mike
     
  7. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Happend once to me, don't know what caused it. Logged in to gmail on PC, made changes, resyncd with phone, never happened again, and I do full wipes all the time.
     
  8. Hiroller173

    Hiroller173 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haven't had exactly that happen, but I've been working to understand how contacts work between gmail and my droid, and there is a function in gmail that will identify and remove duplicates. I aIso learned that if you categorize your contacts in gmail, you can determine (on the droid in the account settings area) which categories will be shown on your phone.

    If you keep fooling around with your contacts in gmail (and use the export/import functions to create and restore backups) you'll eventually get it straightened out.
     
  9. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Not on my Mine.....
     
  10. ugadawgs23

    ugadawgs23 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I just ended up going through and deleting the duplicates manually. Took awhile but whatever.
     
  11. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    It's easier doing that on the PC. Or or that where you cleaned it up?
     
  12. bje1982

    bje1982 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you use gmail just sign on on your comp and go to contacts and hit the "find duplicates" button..