Stop the music skip

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Tech Support' started by xgrinder911, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. xgrinder911
    Offline

    xgrinder911 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dude, wtf? Im tired of this I thought it went away im on gingerbread with a couple build prop edits and v6 groupings fix and debloated with ****ing almost 200mb free at all times and my music still skips! You guys stop it right now

    DX2T
     
  2. Alcapwn89
    Offline

    Alcapwn89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    https://supportforums.motorola.com/message/442632#442632

    They are aware of the problem and working on it.
     
  3. xgrinder911
    Offline

    xgrinder911 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks man

    DX2T
     
  4. osulliga
    Offline

    osulliga New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine will straight up freeze and will have to reboot to fix. It is random and can't pinpoint when it will happen. I was rooted before and when I got the update, I was half awake and clicked a button that happened to be install now.

    It was working better when it was still froyo and rooted.
     
  5. ashclepdia
    Offline

    ashclepdia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am so feaking happy¬°!!!!!¬°!!

    dancedroidSo I have been struggling hardcore with this damns skipping issue since day one with this phone. I saw a few people saying they fixed with poweramp so I tried but didn't work for me.

    So when I saw p3droids preroot get dropped I decided it was time to take this into my own hands. I have gone all out trying just about anything I could think of. V6supercharger helped but only little . I kept thinking it might have been a RAM shortage or something but no matter how high I got RAM it still popped ALOT.so I got setcpu and would not allow the processer to go below 1ghz and still no fix. Started getting frustrated then saw the ECLIPSE(((thanks to nitro at xda))) rom for ginger. Decided was worth a shot since I had already got a new class6 8gig sd and that also didn't do much. So I wiped and flashed eclipse. After messing around and setting EVERYTHING I wanted up but music including new launcher and games and apps and freezing things, I tried to play a song but could not play ANY songs using the stock music app unless my music was on internal storage somewhere.

    So back to poweramp I went where I can choose what exact folders it looks for music in and PRESTO. Had NO skips when playing with poweramp reading the music folder on ext-sd only. I lie I had a couple but inly when I REALLY tested it by doing as much as I could as fast as I could. Then went through poweramp settings and upped the buffer to huge and haven't had a skip since that I could hear. And I am using earbuds in the headphones jack playing pretty loud so I wouldn't miss it if it did. And I am sending this from my phone typing fast as hell which USED to make it skip also. Not anymore though.

    I know this got really long but I wanted to be thorough as I could right now in case someone wanted to follow. I am just so excited to FINALLY hear my music on this x2 and not get mad cuz it stops pops and drops it.
    :icon_ banana: dancedroid :icon_ banana:

    Also want to thank MIKE for all his help in my adventures.
    I will definitely be buying pro version poweramp when trial is up as long as this doesn't all of sudden decide to stop being great. I will also answer any questions about my setup if you have any.
     
  6. densetsu86
    Offline

    densetsu86 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How did you flash it. Does the original bootstrap app for dx2 on froyo work with gb? Aldo anything negative yet.and how is battery life? After my db update my battery went inti the toilet. I lost about 4-6 hours of battery depending on what I am doing compared to froyo.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  7. ashclepdia
    Offline

    ashclepdia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did not do the OTA update. I was in froyo and you root froyo. Then use clockworkmod recovery to flash p3droids prerooted gingerbread . After that I used the same method to flash the eclipse rom from nitroglycerin over at xda forum.

    It is hard for me to gauge my battery since I use my phone constantly for EVERYTHING. Although today I did battery calibration when I woke at 7am and my battery lasted until around 1030pm with varied use all day. I am also getting better battery by underclocking with the setcpu app. Only "problem" since eclipse flash besides the mauoc player is accounts app is force closing but I do have the accounts set up. Not sure how but it did set it up before force closing. And u believe that issue is being address in next update by nitro.
    anything else specific you mean by negative you want to know? I can't really say much negative except for an error I made when freezing/deleting so I had to sbf to froyo and start over which was really pretty simple to do.
     
  8. greycobalt
    Offline

    greycobalt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Never had this problem until the last week, it just suddenly cropped up. Any music-playing app behaves super erratically, and the music skips and chops and stutters like mad.

    Playing music from radio apps (Slacker, LastFM, TuneIn) is pretty bad also, and eventually it just shuts itself off and won't reopen. So that's fun.
     
  9. ashclepdia
    Offline

    ashclepdia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    And you haven't changed anything about your phone. No roms or system changes.

    Did you try clearing your system cache?
     
  10. greycobalt
    Offline

    greycobalt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +1
    No ROMs, no flashing of anything, no system tweaking. It is stock GB. I was in Froyo, I wiped cache/data/SD, I updated to GB, I wiped cache/data/SD, and here I am.
     
  11. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    You never have to wipe your SD when you flash a ROM or anything else. Just data, cache and dalvik

    CM74DX
     
  12. ashclepdia
    Offline

    ashclepdia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OTA update correct? From bone stock froyo that had no skipping? Only thing I can think of is you had one of the lucky phones that didn't have that bug and the update introduced it to your phone. That really sucks. I don't know if there is much you can do about it besides trying a replacement or waiting until the next update where its been said they should be taking care of that problem finally.
     
  13. PhotoMaster
    Offline

    PhotoMaster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phones have all been the poster children for defective! I'm not counting on any fixes any time soon. All I get from the powers that be is, "we're working on it" or "we don't know anything about it". The frustration is horrible!

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  14. xgrinder911
    Offline

    xgrinder911 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its funny when I read the official Motorola forum they said 'notice when airplane mode is on the popping goes away?' So of course I tried it And nope, no fix Motorola.

    DXT2
     
  15. gr8scott_o
    Offline

    gr8scott_o Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I tried the same thing with the same result. I have been running a test over the past week or so, listening to music ONLY thru a Bluetooth connection. This seems to be working so far, I can multi-task and not fear the skip. I consider this a "work-around" for now. Can anyone else with skipping issues try out a Bluetooth connection to headphones and see if it prevents hesitation?
     
Search tags for this page

android music skipping fix

,
how to stop music skipping on android
,

why does music skip on my android

,
why does music skip on my phone
,

why does my music skip on my android

,
why does my music skip on my android phone
,

why does my music skip on my phone

,
why does my phone music skip
,
why does the music on my phone skip
,

why is the music on my phone skipping