Stop auto add of contacts in Gmail

Franknbeans

Reaction score
I am sure everyone has this issue, but how can we turn off the auto add of contacts. . . I'm a wedding DJ by trade and get random inquiries in all the time. . . Now they are getting added to my friends list on my phone.

:(

Backnblack

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7+ 256gb
I am sure everyone has this issue, but how can we turn off the auto add of contacts. . . I'm a wedding DJ by trade and get random inquiries in all the time. . . Now they are getting added to my friends list on my phone.

Contacts>>Menu>>Display Options>>Check Only Contacts with Phone Numbers

OP
F

Franknbeans

Reaction score
Sorry, I should of mentioned I have a Eris. . . those options aren't in mine, or i can't seem to find them..

I got to the "people" Icon then hit the "Menu" button..

Options there are:
New Contact
Search People
Delete
View

MNTNBKR

Reaction score

Hmmm, I hadn't thought about that as I don't give out my mail email address to many random people, but that's an interesting issue. I would hate to have my contact list (even if you can turn them off with the method described above) littered with junk email addresses.

OP
F

Franknbeans

Reaction score
I deleted my entire list right before activating the Eris. . . didn't want to import all of those junk emails.

Backnblack

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7+ 256gb
Log into Gmail and put only the contacts you really care about into "My Contacts". Currently you have the Droid Eris and instead of pulling the contacts you want, the Eris is pulling everyone (all your contacts) (not cool huh). Now go back on your phone and do the following:

Open the People app
Go to the Groups section
Now press the Menu button and select Sync Contacts from the menu
Uncheck “Sync all contacts” and press the save button.

OP
F

Franknbeans

Reaction score