Stock Thunderbolt rebooting randomly

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by adalvare, May 8, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. martianspy
    Offline

    martianspy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. How many reboots have you experienced since the OTA?
    About 6 that i have noticed

    2. How many times a day does your phone randomly reboot?
    1-3 times a day that observe, although it could be more, The latest was around 11:10AM EST today (May 23)

    3. What were you doing prior to the reboot?
    Like another person in this thread, it has happened while either listening to SiriusXM or Pandora


    4. Is your phone setup to automatically search for a LTE signal automatically (CMDA + LTE/EvDo auto) or do you have it set for 3G/1x only (CDMA auto(PRL))? If you aren't sure then you are on the default setting, which is the first option.
    CDMA + LTE/EvDo auto


    5. Suggestions?[/QUOTE]
    no

    Edit: I have since changed my network to to
    CDMA auto(PRL) and it just rebooted itself again at 11:50AM EST
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
  2. js05sierrahd
    Offline

    js05sierrahd New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I make the suggestion that you add a #6 to your questions

    6. Location: State____ Town_______________ or Zip______

  3. USAFgunner
    Offline

    USAFgunner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How many reboots have you experienced since the OTA?
    4 since I started writing this!

    2. How many times a day does your phone randomly reboot? About 10-15 that I notice

    3. What were you doing prior to the reboot? Posting here from my tappatalk app


    4. Is your phone setup to automatically search for a LTE signal automatically (CMDA + LTE/EvDo auto) or do you have it set for 3G/1x only (CDMA auto(PRL))? If you aren't sure then you are on the default setting, which is the first option.
    I did have 4g radio turned off but since I restored my phone I have to disable it again...but reboots either way. Seems like a memory drain its forcing the restart, mine will get a little slow and skittish right before reboot. Probably some junk app verizon put on there. So I guess when my new phone comes tomorrow it will be time to root and rom this thing and debloat


    5. Suggestions?
    Idk...i am about to punt this one


    Sent from a phone with a kickstand...
  4. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    1. How many reboots have you experienced since the OTA?

    Can't count...have no idea. Multiple?


    2. How many times a day does your phone randomly reboot?

    Since I started keeping track, for the past 4 days, at least once each day. Probably three times in a day was the most.


    3. What were you doing prior to the reboot?

    In the past, when I was not keeping track...before it started bugging me, it usually did it while I was placing a call or shortly after the other party answered.

    Now I am noticing it does it often when I am not paying attention. The phone might be in my pocket for several hours...I pull it out and notice it had rebooted some itme ago. I just checked my up time...12 hours 15 minutes...meaning it rebooted while plugged into the charger this morning at 3:30 am while I was sleeping. I'm betting a lot of people don't eve realize the phone is rebooting...especially those who use the stock Sense UI. I use Launcher pro so the first time I hit home or swipe the security bar it asks me which launcher I want to use...that's how I know it rebooted. So I check the uptime to confirm. If I did not have Launcher Pro it would never prompt me for a launcher and I would not know it rebooted.


    4. Is your phone setup to automatically search for a LTE signal automatically (CMDA + LTE/EvDo auto) or do you have it set for 3G/1x only (CDMA auto(PRL))? If you aren't sure then you are on the default setting, which is the first option.

    Default settings


    5. Suggestions?

    Scream like H&&) at Vz until they acknowledge, fix it, and give us something for our frusttrations! When I drop a phone call and have to wait for the phone to finish booting up to return that call it costs me money if my competitor gets ahold of that lead while I am waiting (we use Pay Per LEad vendors on the net and they sell those leads to multiple accounts...first one to get ahold of the lead usually gets a contract).

    6. Location: State_NV___ Town___Reno____________ or Zip__89502____

    Nate
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
  5. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Done!!!!!!!
  6. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. How many reboots have you experienced since the OTA?
    Maybe one or two - not sure, but I know I have lost bluetooth connection from the phone that many times at random

    2. How many times a day does your phone randomly reboot?
    Less than 1

    3. What were you doing prior to the reboot?
    Nothing - sitting idle - has never rebooted when I was using it

    4. Is your phone setup to automatically search for a LTE signal automatically (CMDA + LTE/EvDo auto) or do you have it set for 3G/1x only (CDMA auto(PRL))? If you aren't sure then you are on the default setting, which is the first option.
    CDMA + LTE/EvDo auto

    5. Suggestions?
    Shoot myself or the phone? Surely I can find something less critical

    6. What city and state are you experiencing your random reboots in, if any?
    Dallas, TX

    7. Are you experiencing random reboots over WiFi, 3G and/or LTE?
    Since I am not using the phone I can only assume I am at 4g

    8. What is your baseband version? Located under about phone and then software information.
    1.16.00.0402w_1
  7. js05sierrahd
    Offline

    js05sierrahd New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    One additional bit of info I would like to share:
    So I downloaded the StabilityTest app and although I have know idea what any of the following means I can say that both times my phone has randomly rebooted the log report contained the same info below!

    It looks like StabilityTest crashed unexpectedly or your device rebooted.
    The following information were gathered right before the event occured:

    cores: 1
    bogomips: 681.57
    load: 9.35

    temperature: 34.0°C

    # passed test runs (core 1): 33
    # passed test runs (ram): 480
    runtime: 01:21:02

    system log:

    --------- beginning of /dev/log/system
    --------- beginning of /dev/log/main
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=0
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=1
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=2
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=3
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=0
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=1
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=2
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=3
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=0
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=1
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=2
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=3
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=0

    (The log was about 3x as long but I cut the info to save space)



    Any idea what "E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=0" means??

  8. cueto
    Offline

    cueto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I as well am experiencing this reboot issue. Very irritating! Please help soon ...

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
  9. nateatlarge
    Offline

    nateatlarge New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what HTC Stated to me when i contacted them...

    When we first heard word of the problems, we started collecting information for tracking purposes, to determine if it was a trending issue or something happening on absolutely every phone. Fortunately it wasn't all of them. Once enough information was collected, the appropriate department began analyzing the issue to determine the cause. Along the way, it was determined that at this time, the best solution was to have the affected phones replaced. In the meantime, I suspect that the engineers (and everyone researching the issue) are working on a version of this update that won't have that negative effect. I suppose rolling out an update to the affected phones wouldn't work since they are unfortunately too busy rebooting to apply an update. Yes, though, our engineers are working on a way to get the intended parts of the update through without an unintentional reboot party. I hope that we have this straightened out for you soon, and I really do apologize that you've been put through so much frustration with this
  10. cueto
    Offline

    cueto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    So who do we contact to get a replacement device? HTC or VZW?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  11. nateatlarge
    Offline

    nateatlarge New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have to contact Verizon. Even if you replace your phone it will most likely reboot. You can either hang in there till Verizon and HTC come up with a solution to the OTA error or complain every day for a week till they give you a completely different handset.
  12. USAFgunner
    Offline

    USAFgunner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I got my new phone today and checked the firmware date. Good news is it hasn't been updated. So far so good, no reboot for 7 hours...all apps are the same as before

    Sent from a phone with a kickstand
  13. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +24
    Hopefully its not a refurbished phone. I decided to keep mine and live with a reboot or two rather than trade for a refurb. I'm not paying 250 for a refurb

    ridin the lightning
  14. Kimberlee
    Offline

    Kimberlee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. How many reboots have you experienced since the OTA? 4 to 5 times per day

    2. How many times a day does your phone randomly reboot? 4 to 5 times per day

    3. What were you doing prior to the reboot? Usually listening to music (MP3s using WinAmp, Mixzing, or PlayerPro and also when listening to streaming radio such as Pandora and Slacker). It's also happened when I received an incoming call, rebooting before I was able to pick it up, and later when I tried to call VoiceMail.

    4. Is your phone setup to automatically search for a LTE signal automatically (CMDA + LTE/EvDo auto) or do you have it set for 3G/1x only (CDMA auto(PRL))? If you aren't sure then you are on the default setting, which is the first option. Set up to automatically search for an LTE signal, but I live in an area that is only 3G. *Edit: I have now set my phone specifically to 3G only (in phone information) to see if it makes a difference and am testing it out.

    5. Suggestions? I've tried pulling the battery as many have suggested (did that last night), and did not experience one reboot all morning at work, but after lunch I was back to multiple reboots again). I honestly think it's tied to a connection between the towers that need updated and the recent firmware upgrade (I've come across a lot of posts online regarding this). I've also tried flushing the cache files on my phone, in case the problem was linked to an app or corrupt file. Prior to this update my Thunderbolt never once rebooted while listening to music, whether it be at work or at home. At work, I listen to music (both MP3s and streaming audio/radio) for about 8 hours a day. No problems till this firmware update. It's been a nightmare since then.

    6. What city and state are you experiencing your random reboots in, if any? Northwest Ohio

    7. Are you experiencing random reboots over WiFi, 3G and/or LTE? It has ALWAYS happened when I was on 3G (4G is not yet available in my area). It has only happened so far at work, as at home I'm usually using Wifi. Testing out 3G at home right now just to check to see if there's a pattern.

    8. What is your baseband version? Located under about phone and then software information. 1.16.00.0402w_1
    Last edited: May 25, 2011
  15. USAFgunner
    Offline

    USAFgunner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah its a refurbished but its not like you could tell other than that the packaging says so...to me the trade off was worth it, no reboots yet :)

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page
htc thunderbolt reboot
,
htc thunderbolt rebooting itself
,

htc thunderbolt rebooting on its own

,
htc thunderbolt reboots itself
,
thunderbolt rebooting
,
thunderbolt rebooting itself
,
thunderbolt reboots itself
,
thunderbolt resets itself
,

thunderbolt restarting on its own

,

thunderbolt restarts randomly