Stock Thunderbolt rebooting randomly

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by adalvare, May 8, 2011.

  1. js05sierrahd

    js05sierrahd New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. How many reboots have you experienced since the OTA?
    I would say on average 1-3 per day (depends on my location-see below)

    2. How many times a day does your phone randomly reboot?
    A bunch, and it really depends on my location. I installed the OTA the day it came out (I think the 12th) and while at work it will reboot multiple times during the day (Mon-Thurs 7:30 AM-6:00 PM). When I get home it may reboot 0-2 times (Mon-Thurs 6:30 PM-6:30AM) Friday-Monday morning (at home/in my town) maybe 1-3 reboots during the entire weekend (Northern NJ)

    3. What were you doing prior to the reboot?
    Typically either listening to SiriusXM or Pandora or nothing

    4. Is your phone setup to automatically search for a LTE signal automatically (CMDA + LTE/EvDo auto) or do you have it set for 3G/1x only (CDMA auto(PRL))? If you aren't sure then you are on the default setting, which is the first option.
    (CDMA auto(PRL) At work I am on the border of 3G/4G network but never get 4/G Service and at home I'm lucky to get 3G, usually 1x and I have a network extender

    5. Suggestions?[/QUOTE]
    COMPLAIN TO VERIZON 800.922.0204 & HTC 866.449.8358 until they admit there is an issue and FIX IT!!

    6. What city and state are you experiencing your random reboots in, if any?
    Home: Highland Lakes, NJ 07422 (much less rebooting)
    Work: Parsippany, NJ 07054 (location for most frequent rebooting)

    7. Are you experiencing random reboots over WiFi, 3G and/or LTE?
    Home: Service isn't great here 1x & maybe a little 3G so I use a network extender and most if not all data over WiFi
    Work: 3G (WiFi not available)

    8. What is your baseband version? Located under about phone and then software information.
    Baseband version 1.16.00.0402w_1
     
    #13 js05sierrahd, May 23, 2011
    Last edited: May 24, 2011
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Let's Stay On-Topic Please
     
  3. drastik211

    drastik211 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I actually have not had this issue or at least mine doesn't reboot as often and I haven't caught it. That is until last night when I updated my phone's firmware. Update was successful and since have had 3 reboots that I have witnessed.

    1. under 6 for sure since april 3 until 11PM Sunday night 5-22-11

    2. 3 that I have witnessed since the update

    3. freshly updated the phone and was texting using handsent, 2nd time I was
    using weather bug, 3rd time was texting using handsent


    4.set for 3G/1x only CDMA auto(PRL)

    5.

    6.State: Indiana Town: Rushville
     
    #15 drastik211, May 23, 2011
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
  4. martianspy

    martianspy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. How many reboots have you experienced since the OTA?
    About 6 that i have noticed

    2. How many times a day does your phone randomly reboot?
    1-3 times a day that observe, although it could be more, The latest was around 11:10AM EST today (May 23)

    3. What were you doing prior to the reboot?
    Like another person in this thread, it has happened while either listening to SiriusXM or Pandora


    4. Is your phone setup to automatically search for a LTE signal automatically (CMDA + LTE/EvDo auto) or do you have it set for 3G/1x only (CDMA auto(PRL))? If you aren't sure then you are on the default setting, which is the first option.
    CDMA + LTE/EvDo auto


    5. Suggestions?[/QUOTE]
    no

    Edit: I have since changed my network to to
    CDMA auto(PRL) and it just rebooted itself again at 11:50AM EST
     
    #16 martianspy, May 23, 2011
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
  5. js05sierrahd

    js05sierrahd New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I make the suggestion that you add a #6 to your questions

    6. Location: State____ Town_______________ or Zip______


     
  6. USAFgunner

    USAFgunner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How many reboots have you experienced since the OTA?
    4 since I started writing this!

    2. How many times a day does your phone randomly reboot? About 10-15 that I notice

    3. What were you doing prior to the reboot? Posting here from my tappatalk app


    4. Is your phone setup to automatically search for a LTE signal automatically (CMDA + LTE/EvDo auto) or do you have it set for 3G/1x only (CDMA auto(PRL))? If you aren't sure then you are on the default setting, which is the first option.
    I did have 4g radio turned off but since I restored my phone I have to disable it again...but reboots either way. Seems like a memory drain its forcing the restart, mine will get a little slow and skittish right before reboot. Probably some junk app verizon put on there. So I guess when my new phone comes tomorrow it will be time to root and rom this thing and debloat


    5. Suggestions?
    Idk...i am about to punt this one


    Sent from a phone with a kickstand...
     
  7. nateccnn

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    1. How many reboots have you experienced since the OTA?

    Can't count...have no idea. Multiple?


    2. How many times a day does your phone randomly reboot?

    Since I started keeping track, for the past 4 days, at least once each day. Probably three times in a day was the most.


    3. What were you doing prior to the reboot?

    In the past, when I was not keeping track...before it started bugging me, it usually did it while I was placing a call or shortly after the other party answered.

    Now I am noticing it does it often when I am not paying attention. The phone might be in my pocket for several hours...I pull it out and notice it had rebooted some itme ago. I just checked my up time...12 hours 15 minutes...meaning it rebooted while plugged into the charger this morning at 3:30 am while I was sleeping. I'm betting a lot of people don't eve realize the phone is rebooting...especially those who use the stock Sense UI. I use Launcher pro so the first time I hit home or swipe the security bar it asks me which launcher I want to use...that's how I know it rebooted. So I check the uptime to confirm. If I did not have Launcher Pro it would never prompt me for a launcher and I would not know it rebooted.


    4. Is your phone setup to automatically search for a LTE signal automatically (CMDA + LTE/EvDo auto) or do you have it set for 3G/1x only (CDMA auto(PRL))? If you aren't sure then you are on the default setting, which is the first option.

    Default settings


    5. Suggestions?

    Scream like H&&) at Vz until they acknowledge, fix it, and give us something for our frusttrations! When I drop a phone call and have to wait for the phone to finish booting up to return that call it costs me money if my competitor gets ahold of that lead while I am waiting (we use Pay Per LEad vendors on the net and they sell those leads to multiple accounts...first one to get ahold of the lead usually gets a contract).

    6. Location: State_NV___ Town___Reno____________ or Zip__89502____

    Nate
     
    #19 nateccnn, May 23, 2011
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
  8. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Done!!!!!!!
     
  9. Technoman

    Technoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. How many reboots have you experienced since the OTA?
    Maybe one or two - not sure, but I know I have lost bluetooth connection from the phone that many times at random

    2. How many times a day does your phone randomly reboot?
    Less than 1

    3. What were you doing prior to the reboot?
    Nothing - sitting idle - has never rebooted when I was using it

    4. Is your phone setup to automatically search for a LTE signal automatically (CMDA + LTE/EvDo auto) or do you have it set for 3G/1x only (CDMA auto(PRL))? If you aren't sure then you are on the default setting, which is the first option.
    CDMA + LTE/EvDo auto

    5. Suggestions?
    Shoot myself or the phone? Surely I can find something less critical

    6. What city and state are you experiencing your random reboots in, if any?
    Dallas, TX

    7. Are you experiencing random reboots over WiFi, 3G and/or LTE?
    Since I am not using the phone I can only assume I am at 4g

    8. What is your baseband version? Located under about phone and then software information.
    1.16.00.0402w_1
     
  10. js05sierrahd

    js05sierrahd New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    One additional bit of info I would like to share:
    So I downloaded the StabilityTest app and although I have know idea what any of the following means I can say that both times my phone has randomly rebooted the log report contained the same info below!

    It looks like StabilityTest crashed unexpectedly or your device rebooted.
    The following information were gathered right before the event occured:

    cores: 1
    bogomips: 681.57
    load: 9.35

    temperature: 34.0°C

    # passed test runs (core 1): 33
    # passed test runs (ram): 480
    runtime: 01:21:02

    system log:

    --------- beginning of /dev/log/system
    --------- beginning of /dev/log/main
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=0
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=1
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=2
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=3
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=0
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=1
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=2
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=3
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=0
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=1
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=2
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=3
    E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=0

    (The log was about 3x as long but I cut the info to save space)



    Any idea what "E/TrafficStats( 1555): [QCTMM]tryAll index=0" means??

     
  11. cueto

    cueto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I as well am experiencing this reboot issue. Very irritating! Please help soon ...

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
     
  12. nateatlarge

    nateatlarge New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what HTC Stated to me when i contacted them...

    When we first heard word of the problems, we started collecting information for tracking purposes, to determine if it was a trending issue or something happening on absolutely every phone. Fortunately it wasn't all of them. Once enough information was collected, the appropriate department began analyzing the issue to determine the cause. Along the way, it was determined that at this time, the best solution was to have the affected phones replaced. In the meantime, I suspect that the engineers (and everyone researching the issue) are working on a version of this update that won't have that negative effect. I suppose rolling out an update to the affected phones wouldn't work since they are unfortunately too busy rebooting to apply an update. Yes, though, our engineers are working on a way to get the intended parts of the update through without an unintentional reboot party. I hope that we have this straightened out for you soon, and I really do apologize that you've been put through so much frustration with this
     
Search tags for this page
htc thunderbolt reboot
,
htc thunderbolt rebooting itself
,

htc thunderbolt rebooting on its own

,
htc thunderbolt reboots itself
,
thunderbolt rebooting
,
thunderbolt rebooting itself
,
thunderbolt reboots itself
,
thunderbolt resets itself
,

thunderbolt restarting on its own

,
thunderbolt restarts randomly