stock launcher better?

Discussion in 'ShadowROM' started by lurch81, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. lurch81

    lurch81 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been running launcherpro for a long time now and a huge fan but switched up to stock launcher earlier and my droid feels so much faster, is it just me or is it faster?
     
  2. thc1967

    thc1967 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Wow I had exactly the opposite experience. I used stock for the longest time and it felt so slow and sluggish. I switched to LauncherPlus (and configured it to stay in memory) and now the launcher flies!
     
  3. z32589

    z32589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Placebo effect in either direction :)
     
  4. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well maybe not placebo, but who knows haha. I am rooted and ever since I used the Terminal Emulator hack code my LPro has been super fast and never redraws... plus I like all the options it has so I'll never go back to stock...
     
  5. z32589

    z32589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, definitely agree. Ran the "echo" hack as well and it's been a lot better. I really rely on the LP widgets, so it's tough for me to even switch. I'm really excited for when Fede releases the newly designed LP - that should be amazing!
     
  6. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you used the stock Launcher2 thats been included with ShadowRom, then you are indeed experiencing better performance than LauncherPro. We've optimized the hell out of L2 and started adding new features.

    However, since 99.999% of you users just end up putting LP or ADW over it (and never give it the chance it deserves) we've decided to scrap our L2 project in favor of ADW from source.

    You will start to see ADW included in ShadowRom v1.0.0 as the stock Launcher.

    And like always, we do not support or debug LauncherPro, if thats the route you do decide to go.
     
  7. z32589

    z32589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What are some of the L2 tweaks. Maybe that will convince me to switch / use it! :)
     
  8. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Animation speeds were tweaked to run smoother on the D1.

    We've added rotary toggle controls.

    We've added 2d/3d toggle controls.

    We had planned to add 4 custom icons on dockbar, with notification counts (similar to LP's), and a few other features, but the project has been scrapped.
     
  9. z32589

    z32589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you were to actually go ahead and add the 4 custom shortcuts, I would use it. I also rely heavily on the LP widgets - realize there is nothing you can do about it. But that's why I gravitate toward LP.
     
  10. lurch81

    lurch81 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would love to see you continue launcher2 project its awesome and I hate adw
     
  11. z32589

    z32589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where are the ads? - and I second that motion.
     
  12. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Settings -> ShadowRom Settings -> Input Settings -> Launcher Settings (Category)
     
Search tags for this page

what is the command of terminala emulator by jack pelvich