Stock Keyboard

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by michaelearth, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. michaelearth
    Offline

    michaelearth New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have UD 1.0 and I was wondering how I can get the stock 2.2 Android keyboard instead of the skinned one included in the rom?

    Thanks!
  2. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Go back to the ROM you had before and open it up with 7zip. And when I say go back to it I mean, the MyoldROM.zip you have saved on your computer, not to reinstall it on the phone. Choose "open archive". then go into the system/app folder. You will find your old keyboard in there. probably latinim.apk or LatinImGoogle.apk or something like that. Pull it off to your desktop.

    Next.. connect your phone upto the computer and transfer the file over to your phone's SD card. Disconnect from pc. Now, using whatever you use, I use Root Explorer, go into your file you just put on your SD Card and longpress on it. Then choose "copy". Next navigate to the phones system/app folder and mount as R/W. Next paste your keyboard in there. Once you pasted it, go to it and longpress on it. select "permissions". Set it up so that in column 1, all three are checked, colum 2 just the top one and nothing in column 3. Once that's done mount back to R/O and reboot.

    I am sure there is an easier way that takes 5 seconds but, this is what I know and I am just at least giving you a way to do what you want.
  3. Adrioid
    Offline

    Adrioid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cali

    Xkape how would the power control widget be named in a back up file?
  4. michaelearth
    Offline

    michaelearth New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks but I'm hoping that there is a more simple to get the stock keyboard.
  5. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    quote]
    Xkape how would the power control widget be named in a back up file?[/QUOTE]


    Not sure what you mean. Are you trying to disable the widget so that it's not running but still there incase you want it later? If so just rename it from .apk to .bak

    Or are you just asking me what the power control widget is called?
  6. Adrioid
    Offline

    Adrioid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cali

    Not sure what you mean. Are you trying to disable the widget so that it's not running but still there incase you want it later? If so just rename it from .apk to .bak

    Or are you just asking me what the power control widget is called?[/QUOTE]

    I'm just asking how the powercontrol apk would be listed in one of my backups that I have. Hope I'm making sense.
  7. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Power Control Widget is in the Settings.apk

    Sent from my Original Droid using the Exclusive Droid Forums App (Available Free in the Market) :wink:
  8. Adrioid
    Offline

    Adrioid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cali
    So I need to pull the settings .apk from my backup if I want to put on old smoked power control widget in my current rom?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

android stock keyboard.apk froyo free