Stock Gallery Crashing

Discussion in 'Motorola DROID Turbo 2' started by 252chevyboyz, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    What's up everyone. Has anyone had their stock Moto gallery crash on them consistently? I have restarted, booted into the boot loader menu, restarted again, and cleared cache. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get the gallery back up and running. My SD Card is encrypted and I have cut the encryption to try to get it up and running along with leaving it encrypted. Any suggestions?

    Any help is greatly appreciated,
    -Rick

    Sent from my T2
     
  2. wicked

    wicked Administrator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,321
    Likes Received:
    1,527
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +1,729
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
    Might have a corrupt file in there. Use a file explorer app or QuickPic to view the contents of your gallery and delete any files that are not familiar to you or don't remember taking.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Thank you so much man I didn't even think about a file explorer. Any particular you would recommend? Astro or any other? Thank you again

    Sent from my T2
     
  4. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    I can open all my photos in the Google Photo app just not in the Moto gallery. Kinda of strange. Running Nova Prime, empire 6 icons and still locked boot loader

    Didn't see any corrupt files in the phone or SD Card memory though

    Sent from my T2
     
  5. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    It does sound like there is a corrupted file in the Moto Gallery App. If everything works in QuickPic, you can backup your data and do a Factory Reset which should fix the issue. OR, just use QuickPic as your gallery App.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,360
    Likes Received:
    7,092
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,602
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Have you updated to the new Gallery app? I think there is an app update out now.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Thank you guys for the help. I have searched through Astro file manager for over an hour so far. I can't find any corrupt files in the device memory or SD Card. Is there a good way to find a corrupt file? Maybe a better file manager that would show it? Still can't access the gallery. It just tries to load then crashes. Would hooking it up to the computer be a better way? First time I've had an issue of a corrupt file and not been able to find the source

    Sent from my T2
     
  8. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    I did go through and uninstall the updates to the gallery and tried opening it after restarting with no success. Also reinstalled updates then restarted and had no luck on opening it

    Sent from my T2
     
  9. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Would optimal zooper widget pack, chrome dev, empire icons, emperial icons, or empire zooper have any effect? Those are the only apps I've installed recently

    Sent from my T2
     
  10. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    You didn't move the app to the SD card by any chance..??
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    The gallery app?

    Sent from my T2
     
  12. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    The gallery app isn't able to be transferred over to the SD Card. I got it hooked up to the laptop now trying to figure something out. Would a bug report help on this situation?

    Sent from my T2