Stock Froyo vs Custom ROM for Moto Droid on Verizon?

Stock, Official Froyo or Custom ROM Froyo? (Verizon Moto Droid)

• Stock, Official Froyo

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Custom ROM Froyo (please suggest one in a reply)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

GaMeBoY439

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

So I am still fairly new to Droid modding and I'd like to get some feedback and opinions on whether people prefer stock, vanilla froyo or a souped up custom rom implementation of froyo on their verizon moto droid. So far I have used ChevyNo1's Simply Stunning ROM (versions 4.3 and 4.7) and jRummy's Kangerade v5.0.9. I find that both of them are great ROMs, but I have had minor issues with both of them. Things like wi-fi tethering not working, apps2sd issues, self restarts, etc., but they were very on and off. I'd be able to fix most things, but sometimes things would return, other things would pop up, etc.

I haven't spent much time on the official, stock froyo update for the Droid, but I do know the immediate disadvantages are basically no tethering (wi-fi tether isn't included at all and wired one is way too expensive), no overclocking, no root access, and basically no flash support (I read somewhere that a minimum spec for flash 10.1 is 1GHz cpu, so since the stock update won't allow overclocking, doesn't it really not work well at all on it?).