Stock droid stuck on motorola screen (was installing FR01B)

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Wavefunction, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. Wavefunction

    Wavefunction Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had flashed froyo on to both mine and my mother's droids earlier, without issue--then we get my dad's today and he wants me to put it on there.
    I install it- it says something failed during installation, i go to boot it up- and it is stuck on the motorola screen.
    I need a solution--this is a stock issue droid.
    no matter what, the BIGGEST thing, is that my dad has 100+ contacts not synced with google or facebook, and those NEED to be saved, they are the biggest priority here--
    I would appreciatte a fix that can save that, and not make him think I broke his phone--He knows everything up to here, I just don't want to be taking this in to verizon, or him losing his contacts--- anybody help? this is very serious
     
  2. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Have you tried a simple battery pull and power up to see what happens?
     
  3. Wavefunction

    Wavefunction Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes. I get the same thing
    when I do the power+PRESS X then volume and camera button to reboot, I also get the same screen
     
  4. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    So if you pull the battery and try to power up it gets stuck at the (M) and if you boot into recovery (power and X) and try to reboot from there you also get stuck at the (M) right?
     
  5. Wavefunction

    Wavefunction Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes. and unless factory reset doesn't delete contacts, then I can't do that
     
  6. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you try installing it again?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. Wavefunction

    Wavefunction Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes, just tried it again, to see the exact error
    right after verifying current system...
    assert failed: apply_patch_check("MTD:boot:25047...

    and then there are 2 whole lines of letters and numbers...

    then it says E: Error in /sdcard/update.zip
    (status 7)
    Installation aborted
     
  8. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    A factory reset will delete contacts, and anyone is definitely playing with fire having 100 plus contacts and not backing them up with Google (I don't even understand how that is possible). After you make it through this it might be something else you do for your dad, just to help him out.

    Was this 2.2 update.zip the exact same one you used to update the other two devices, maybe you got a corrupt file. I would try downloading the update.zip again via your computer and get the update.zip to your SD card by way of a card reader and make sure it is named update.zip (not update.zip.zip) and try it one more time
     
  9. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is so odd though... you are using the stock recovery, but you are getting what looks like the error people were getting using newer versions of clockwork recovery to install some files.

    I honestly don't know...

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. Wavefunction

    Wavefunction Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can re-download it-I THINK this is the same one-I should definitely do that--
    I'm going to sync his contacts as soon as this is over--

    so then, I take the SD card out, put it in my computer, and put a new update.zip on there?
    I'll post back with the results in a few
     
  11. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Tank, that makes the situation sound real bad when he has the Rescue Squad stumped o_O
     
  12. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ik, but I just got my first car, so I'm kinda thinking about that atm :p

    Though I would got with tpaker's idea, and download it again.

    Also, I wish I could remember what error you get when there is no update.zip, or it is named update.zip.zip. Maybe this is the error...

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  13. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Congrats on that, I would imagine it would be hard to think of anything else, let me know if you ever drive my way, I will be sure to keep off of the road ; )
     
  14. Wavefunction

    Wavefunction Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i got the same error---
    what do I do?
    by the way- my dad is saying he has the contacts backed up on his work email--but he doesn't know how he would get them on his droid--his work email is not gmail
     
  15. Wavefunction

    Wavefunction Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    what if i wipe cache partition?
     
Search tags for this page

first motorola droid and stuck on white motorolla m