stock droid 2.2 manual update tried to root 2.01 sprecovery

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by loveisdead30, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. loveisdead30
    Offline

    loveisdead30 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I was stock with manual install of 2.2, I decided to go back to root so here is what was done:
    1.full battery, downloaded the SPRecovery_for_ESE81
    2.opened RSDlight, turned phone off pressed up on dpad and turned phone on.
    3.see the bootloader, RSDlight shows my phone, browsed for the file, found the file clicked on start
    4.phone went to 93% rebooted came back says 100% completed
    5.battery light on phone is on, says 0% battery, connect charger
    6.rebooted phone, now still no battery juice and not showing it is connected to wall and charging (even though it is)
    7.phone is now rebooting every 30secs from home screen (android system is giving force close message as well)
    8.reconnect phone to PC ran RSDlight and downloaded 2.01 flash file to go back to stock, giving error "about checksums failed"
    9.flashed back to 2.01 stock still giving error

    as of now I am at the bootloader but no idea where to go or what to do from here, side note, my batter is getting very warm, bootloader shows battery OK and 2c.7c...

    help please =/

    **update: Leaving phone plugged into wall charging, no change in LED indicator(bright red still) and no change in battery, still not showing it charging at all

    1.plugged phone into PC, started RSDlight, turned phone off, power+dpad UP, now at bootloader
    2.RSDlight shows device, browsed to the stock 2.01 flash file, start
    3.currently at 80%

    **update: I am back to stock 2.2

    I have a question though, if you are 2.2 stock and want to root, do I have to flash the 2.01 file then put sprecovery then back to 2.01 then load a rom or is there an easier way?
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  3. loveisdead30
    Offline

    loveisdead30 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks lol yeah it has been very interesting to say the least..Well I was working fine and decided lets try this again but with 2.01 then sprecovery..so I flashed over 2.01 and booted phone, now I am stuck at the android (touch to activate call screen) I have done the activation call 4 times and have reflashed 2.01 3 times and still cannot get past that damn droid!!! Once it says my phone has been activated I click next and it dumps me back at the android to start the activation call again..Now it does say wait up too 15mins and I have waited that+ longer with nothing new happening..Any idea from here?
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I do not recall hearing of this particular issue. Did you wipe data and cache? I'll try to get some of the other RS folks to weigh in.
    Mike
  5. loveisdead30
    Offline

    loveisdead30 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No to the wipe since I have not made it that far..All all I have done is flash over the 2.01
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,546
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes you will have to use rsdlite to flash back to 2.01. I know you said you tried that, but right now that is the only way to root 2.2.
  7. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,546
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Trophy Points:
    113
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Thanks for weighing in PC!

    Mike
  9. loveisdead30
    Offline

    loveisdead30 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok well with 2.2 aside, what can be done to fix the stuck at the activation call/android?
  10. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,546
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Its asking you to reactivate or just inout you google account.
  11. loveisdead30
    Offline

    loveisdead30 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right, but once I listen to the message and it says that it is now activated and I click next, it looks me back to listen to the message and activate the phone again...

    I have tried rebooting, same thing
    I have tried battery pull 30secs, same thing
    I have tried flashing again, same thing

    same thing=once the phone is activated, it loops and asks me to click the droid to activate my phone
  12. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,546
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Trophy Points:
    113
    to skip it you can touch all four corners of your screen, I am looking into any activation issues.
  13. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,546
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Trophy Points:
    113
    you have 2.01, now try using rsdlite to flash 2.1 ese sprecovery. Then try to activate it.
  14. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,546
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Trophy Points:
    113
  15. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Sorry, just got back.
    As Mike and PC have said you need to be able to flash back to 2.0.1 to root 2.2.

    Maybe take a break shut the phone off, let the phone cool, reboot your PC.

    RSD is VERY picky some times. Keep trying after it cools.

    As long as you get into bootloader you're ok.

    Edit: Re D/L the .sbf
  16. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Maybe try flashing just the SPR.sbf and booting to recovery. Wipe Data/Cache x2, and rebooting
  17. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
  18. loveisdead30
    Offline

    loveisdead30 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I see that and it makes perfect sense...even though I was not able to activate my phone I flashed the sprecovery file, I can now boot into sprecovery but any other booting freezes at the M logo now..about to reflash the 2.01 file then skip activation and drop the rom on the card, then shut phone down and flash sprecovery and boot straight into recovery and clear data and cache 3x each then try and install the update.zip..will see what happens
  19. loveisdead30
    Offline

    loveisdead30 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so that got me booted and rooted with the rom I wanted, but now...my phone will not activate no matter how many times I listen and press 1 for activation then get the message that it is now activated it goes to home screen and the 3g never shows up in the notification bar, when I reboot my phone it asks me to activate again.
  20. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    When I was running Cyanogen, I had a similar issue. I called *228, connected but could not get to the dial pad. the fix, open the slider and press

    Is that what you are experiencing?

    Mike
Search tags for this page
droid 2 2.01 stock update.zip download
,

z74 root