Stock 2.1 to 2.2 Froyo Step By Step installation

Discussion in 'Android Custom & Themes' started by KungFuGeek, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. spdivr1122

    spdivr1122 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    setcpu

    Hey, i did everything and it works great. im on setcpu now, but it wont let me set the min and max. any ideas?
     
  2. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you have a warning that your phone wasn't rooted?
    If so you need to apply the fix for root.
    If not then you need to allow SetCPU in the Superuser Permissions app.
     
  3. spdivr1122

    spdivr1122 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    setcpu

    no it is rooted and everything, i will try to allow setcpu

    (by the way sorry if i replied wrong, new to droid forums if you can tell)
     
  4. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When opening it it does have an effect running that does take a second but this is exactly the same speed every time I open it.
    This looks like it's coded to do that at a certain speed.
    Even with a lot running it still takes the same amount of time opening.
     
  5. cochraca

    cochraca New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i followed all your steps and everything is great, except my SetCPU has my max and min sliders locked at 90mhz and its slow.
     
  6. ahendric

    ahendric Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    dmartins,

    don't know where the extra 'r' came from.

    I am not bothered by how long the launcher takes to come up, it is when I am trying to scroll through the apps, I sometimes have to slide my finger a couple of times to get it going. The old version (2.1) allowed me to swipe once and it would scroll to the bottom.

    Thanks,
    Andy
     
  7. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    90MHz?
    The kernels only go as low as 125MHz.
    Are you sure it's not 900MHz?
    Which kernel did you download?
    Is root working?
    Superuser Permissions app isn't installed?
    Is Superuser Permissions set to allow SetCPU?
     
  8. jefbystereo

    jefbystereo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok, quick question that I couldnt find answered in this thread. Within the froyo-BS-20100608-0313 folder, there are two zipped files (boot.img, and system.tar). Do those need to be unzipped, or left as zipped files? Also, Step 8 says to "redo step 9" what does that mean?
     
  9. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope leave those files be.
    It now says to redo step 7.(Select wipe cache partiton once complete select wipe data/factory rest)
    Wasn't changed when I updated the guide.
    I just changed it before you asked. :icon_eek:
     
  10. nateccnn

    nateccnn Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Go into SetCPU, click the menu at the bottom and chose to select device...chose autodetect. Then try your speed slider again.

    Worked for me anyway.

    Nate
     
  11. jefbystereo

    jefbystereo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Great! Thanks for the quick reply. Have Froyo up and running, now on to the wifi kernel
     
  12. cochraca

    cochraca New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im looking at SetCPU now and at the top left it says 125mhz with scaling ondemand written under it to the top right in green it says 90mhz max, 90mhz min.

    then under it where the sliders are it says Max: 90000 with the slider all the way to the left and it wont let me move it. And Min: 90000 with the slider all the way to the left and i cant move that one either

    I downloaded the kernel that the dude said he used in the tutorial.
    root is fine.
    Superuser Permissions is installed and allowing SetCPU
     
Search tags for this page
2.1-update1 to 2.2
,

android 2.1 to 2.2

,
android 2.1 to 2.2 update
,
android 2.1 to 2.2 upgrade
,
android 2.1 update1 to 2.2
,

how to upgrade 2.1 to 2.2 froyo

,

how to upgrade android 2.1 to 2.2

,
update android 2.1 to 2.2
,

upgrade android 2.1 to 2.2

,
upgrade android 2.1 update1 to 2.2